TRASH HEROES - BEACH CLEANUP - EPISODE #1

in #life7 years ago

1.jpg

Hi Steemit! I have lived in Phuket for a few years and in the pictures below you can see my favorite beach here. It is not named on a map and apparently has no official name but I call it 'Secret Beach'.

19073731_1400904066658340_1324849064_n.jpg

I call it 'Secret beach' because it is not easy to access and you must climb down a mildly treacherous descent to reach it. There is barbed wire on one side so you have to be careful what you reach out for if you were to slip!

9 (6).jpg

Sadly beaches become littered easily and with this particular beach not being easy to access, people can be lazy and leave their rubbish behind.

13.jpg

This is frustrating because I love to come here with my girlfriend, friends and my two pit bulls, Shiva and Chaos (mother and son), so they can run free and play in the water.

9 (5).jpg

It is unfortunate that some people cannot cleanup behind themselves. This leaves glass and other dangerous objects on the beach and is a safety concern for my dogs (who tear around the place) and anyone who wishes to visit the beach barefoot.

6.jpg

After a frustrating experience with a shard of glass one day, I decided to start operation beach cleanup and tackle this issue in a proactive way.

7.jpg

Armed with gloves, black bin bags and my friend Tomas as a helping hand we launched an assault on the beach picking up any waste material we could find.

8.jpg

We estimate that we collected roughly 150-200 kilograms of rubbish from the beach and it took about 4-5 hours.

19075099_1400357780046302_1238673619_n.jpg

This leaves the beach in more enjoyable state for all to enjoy. We were so happy about our efforts that we have decided to do this more often in an attempt to help cleanup some areas we like and visit regularly. We plan on cleaning up more beaches and other areas soon and look forward to sharing that experience with you too! Keep following us for further episodes!

P.S. If anyone would like to take part and help cleanup next time please get in contact with me.

Here is a short video of my dogs enjoying the beach. They love to come here and their favorite game is retrieving sticks and logs from the sea as well as shredding entire coconut shells!

Map: https://www.google.com/maps/dir/7.76118,98.3163736//@7.761262,98.3164048,197m/data=!3m1!1e3?hl=cs

Sort:  

Great effort!

Great job guys! Keeping the environment clean is really important and more people should be like you! Well done!

Real Heroes 💝👏

If i go Phuket i will contact you sure. Have a nice evening..

Follow me at @mrstaf

I upvote you

Best regards

keep doing guys I'm Thai too but i never leave rubbish. i always find the trash. you guys are awesome

Nice! I lived in Koh Chang for a few years and yeah, unless someone is constantly cleaning it, the beaches get dirty so quickly. I think more of it gets washed up than left there, at least on the gulf side. The fishermen throw literally every single piece of garbage straight overboard.

I'll be visiting Phuket in a few weeks, maybe I'll make it to Secret Beach! Thanks for sharing.

This is the type of post i would like to see receive 1000$ upvote.... Well done, so much respect and admiration for you.

Just taking this opportunity to say "THANK YOU FOR FOLLOWING ME"

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64294.06
ETH 3427.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59