Nootropics: The Quest to Unlock the Brain's Potential! [Part 1]steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago

   

Nootropics, a class of psychoactive drug and herbs, that can be used to enhance the cognition and memory of the people who consume them.  Not to go without saying, each specific substance carries it's own inherent risk.  Although, the possible negative side effects are there, Nootropics are generally considered safe.

 A very popular class of Nootropic is called "The Racetam family."

Racetams as seen above are a group of synthetic nootropics, the very first being Piracetam - also known as   2-oxo-1-pyrrolidine acetamide. Piracetam was first created in somewhere between the 1950s and 1960s in Russia as a treatment for epilepsy.  It was just recently around 2001 that is, that Piracetam has been picked up by the mainstream "Bio-Hackers" as the users of nootropics liken  themselves. With it's very high LD50 threshold Piracetam is usually a staple in every first time biohackers arsenal. The mechanism of action isn't completely understood as is everything related to the brain but, Piracetam is thought to influence some cognitive and vascular functions, within the body without being classified as a sedative, or a "classic stimulant." It's thought that it can access some ion channels in the brain and allow for the transfer of internal "data" more efficiently!


There are some natural nootropics as well and, some bio-hackers especially the nature loving type prefer to go that route. Natural doesn't mean that they can be less effective by any means.  I've personally took Lion's Mane Mushrooms with great effect. I plan on getting into natural nootropics in much more detail later on in this series. 

Keep a eye out for more uploads as part of this series for information regarding this wonderful, life-changing, exciting class of compounds and plants. That I've come to love, so very much!  


SOURCES:

Piracetam

What is a nootropic?

Sort:  

I take bacopa monnieri For enhancing brain functions and learning and memory. Ashwagandha also helps decreasing stress thus thinking better. And My Favorite Wild Caught Fish Oil.

Great Content :)

Thank you so much for the comment! I take Fish oil as well, with some different Racetams tossed in for different challenges I need a little extra brain power to complete.

I also have an interest in new tropics. Not sure if y ou're into Tim Ferris but he's huge on nootropics and brain hacking. Personally I take adderall for ADD, most recently I was curious about trying modanifil but I guess from what my Dr told me it's not only incredibly expensive but she's only allowed to prescribe it to either shiftworkers or people with sleep disorders. She said its sad that's the case though as she said it's actually much better than adderall or rittlin or any other ADD type drugs.

I respect Tim Ferris a lot. His Book "The 4 Hour work week " is a life changer.

Yeah seems the 4 hour workweek is a love it or hate it book for many people. I personally really enjoyed it. While I did find it somewhat far fetched in that I don't see many people being able to do those things I do like the general overall idea and it's one of my favorite business/entrepreneur books.

I'm also kind of fascinated with the guy and how he tries to hack the human body.

I don't recall if it Posted it here or not but the origional tile of 4 hour work week was actually something like "Selling Drugs for Fun and Profit" however the publisher and Walmart didn't like that so it changed to the "2 Hour Workweek" to which his publisher said nobody will believe 2 hours so it transitioned from the 2 hour workweek to the 4 hour workweek.

True! I respect this guy a lot :)

I'll actually be doing a post on Modafinil for this series! I haven't tried it yet but, from what I read it seems amazing! I have like 100 on the way to me. You can buy them online. I think I paid 40 USD for 20 but, I paid in Bitcoin so I got a discount. If you want to know where I got them just reply to this comment and I'll give you the link. I won't post it unless you ask though.

When you buy them online are you actually getting the real deal and not some fake knockoff made in north korea or something like that? lol.

I forget the other one I've tried I think its called Vyanese which is my most recent prescription. Less speedy than adderall but makes me feel wierd, not sure how to describe it but just wierd

Yes the real deal! You can choose from 4 different brands Modalert Modawake WakeAlert and I forget the last.

I've tried Vyanese and I also enjoyed it more than just adderal. I like Dextro-Amphetamine the most though. The cleanest of them all in my opinion atleast.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98