Where Should I deliver My Baby? Not an Easy Thing to Answer If You Live In Venezuela...

in #life6 years ago

mujer embarazada.png


The Problems of Being Pregnant in Venezuela Continues...


I’m 26 weeks pregnant so… 6months and a half, if you were naïve like me and though oh she is super closed to deliver her baby cause you know woman are only 9 months pregnant, you are mistaken, you’ll see they say 9months or 40 weeks but if you do the math correctly 40 weeks are not 9 months cause you know 4 weeks a month that would make 40 weeks = 10 months, when I figure this out I was like =O they freaking lie to me! I was supposed to endure this for only 9 months (don’t get me wrong I love my baby and I’m happy I’m having him but pregnancy for me is not something I want to do again is just not fun) and know I know I have to deal with this for 10 months! I thought it was not fair when I first learn about it, but now I realize is actually something not so bad cause I have more time to prepare for the delivery.

I’m kind of freaking out that the delivery is now so close, and yeah, my biggest fear is the fact that I have to pass a human head through a very small part of my anatomy but my second biggest fear is the fact of not knowing where to deliver him.
You’ll see I don’t have insurance so I have to pay the bill for the deliver myself (with my partners help of course) and in another time in this country delivering a baby when you have not insurance will be ok cause you could go to a public hospital and a very good medical attention and be sure you and your baby are going to be safe and well take care, now let’s just say now is just not that simple.

The problem with a public hospital right now in my country is that either they don’t have the medical supplies, don’t have beds to receive any more patients, there are not on call doctors to look after the patients or all the above combine. I looked and did my research and the only public hospital with a good maternity wing is on the city I used to live in and where my mom and sister still live in, but the problem is that if I have to have a C Section there is not guarantee that they would be able to accept me in that hospital (because of all the reasons about).

I was sick with a cold like 2 weeks ago and I was visiting my mom and when my fever didn’t go down I have to go to that hospital, when I got there I saw a woman with this huge belly and the look of pain in her eyes outside the hospital, I got in the doctor saw me and check on the baby to see if everything was alright (thank god it was all good and the doctor told me not to worry that the fever was starting to coming down and that it was normal with a cold I just had to continue taking my meds) while I was in there I hear the doctors talking about the woman outside she was 6cm dilated already but they could accept her in cause they didn’t had an anesthesiology expert with them (the one who was supposed to be on call was sick) so they couldn’t risk receiving the woman cause even if she was going to have her baby naturally she could get complicated and could need a C Section and they didn’t have the anesthesiologist to do that, so they just keep that poor in labor woman on the outside of the hospital on a raining night cause they weren’t sure they could accept her in.

This made me realize I can’t count on the public hospital of that city even if there are good reviews about it (apparently, they have the medical supplies and don’t ask you to bring anything like most hospital in the country do, and the hygienic part is also very good). So, I need a plan B I need a private clinic to deliver my baby safely naturally or c section.

I have look at clinics in both cities where my mom and sister live and where I’m currently living with my boyfriend and the prices are really really high, on the city I’m currently one of the top clinics cost 300$ wish to many on the outside of Venezuela is not much is actually very cheap, but keep in mind that the minimum wage in Venezuela is 1.5$ a month (currently 5 million of Bolivares, and the value of the dollar is 3.5 million of Bolivares each dollar) so 300 dollars is very difficult to pay for a person with minimum wage in this country I think the right word is impossible to pay. Thankfully my Boyfriend had some savings in BTC (like 100$) and with are counting with that to help pay for the clinic, I looked around for more cheap options and there are some that will only charge 150$ to 200$ wish is still out our budget but is more possible to continue saving (using SteemIt because you can’t save in Bolivares the inflation will eat all your savings) to get that amount.

But here is my big doubt should I use that amount of money to have my baby in a private clinic? Or should I risk and try and go to the public hospital I told you about cause you see if I could use that money to buy stuff for the baby that he still needs like more diapers, meds that he may need, I don’t know buy him stuff for him rather than just expended it on one day at a clinic is so much better in my opinion, but then I think of that day when I’m supposed to be concentrated on delivering my baby in peace and safe will I be on the outside of a hospital waiting to see if they are going to accept me in to deliver my baby there?

I don’t know what to do, I haven’t really chosen yet, my partner and I talk all the time about our options, and we are in such a predicament about it, my doctor told me not to over think it or my stress level could get high and be bad for my health and my baby’s, but how not to worry when I know the time is flying by and I will have to deliver him sooner and I still don’t know where.

Is frustrating is annoying and is so madding to be in this situation on such a special moment of my life, but hey I will get through it, when time comes I know me and my boyfriend will pick what is best for the baby and we will have the money to pay for it if that is the case. For now, I will continue to worry about it.


Images Source


Like always thank you so much for reading me and
I look forward to reading your comments!


Banner (2).png


Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by VictoriaBSB from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

I am so sorry to see that you are struggling with this decision! If the funds from selling the BTC end up being enough...it sounds like the private clinic would give you more peace of mind. Going to the public hospital just seems more stressful and more could go wrong....and you don't need that kind of worry on top of the delivery itself. I truly wish that I could help...perhaps closer to the due date sbd and steem will be worth more and even a small donation would make some measure of difference. Stay strong! <3

i know right maybe is better to pay for the private clinic but then again i think about how i could spend that money on the baby .... is hard to choose but in time we will take the better option im sure, thank you so much for your comment and yeah hopefully steem/sbd will rise up but dont worry about it we will manage to pay for what ever it comes you'll see =)

I admire your sense of faith in the face of such an impossible economy! <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 61766.31
ETH 2428.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64