Campeche became by accident my favorite place for landscape Photography

in #life6 years ago

I love the word Serendipity, Google says it means: the occurrence and development of events by chance in a happy or beneficial way. That exactly is what happened to me when I was working in infernal Campeche.

It was January of 2017, it’s supposed to be not that hot, it’s not like is in the middle of the summer, which I actually lived as well and would not ever recommend, I have no idea how the people there manage to live, period. I’m joking, but it is really hot, and tremendously humid.


So there I was, making a drone video for a Construction company in the middle of the jungle (They rehabilitate rail-roads, pretty interesting, actually). We drove for hours to get to the places we needed to shot, and we stopped for lunch in a small town south of Campeche called Champotón, it’s just by the coast which is nice for people like me who rarely see the ocean, at the side of the road was a restaurant, common seafood restaurant, and there it was. One of the most wonderful sights I’ve ever seen.

Of course I took a photo:


I instantly uploaded it to my instagram, if any of my photos was worthy of being instagrammed was this one, so I did, and began eating my shrimp cocktail, which wasn’t actually that good:


Little did I know, this was going to be my most successful photo in my Instagram, 15 minutes into my Cocktail, I got a notification saying that NATGEO Mexico actually featured me on their page, I couldn’t believe it! Huge milestone for me, I was using their hashtag for months and I didn’t even get a like from them, let alone a featured mention on their page.

(btw I changed my Instagram handle since, so you won't find vicoikana if you look it up now hehe)

I became inspired and took a bunch more of photos, and became in love with what beautiful sights this infernal place has to offer.

Sort:  

awesome photos! So now can you say your a national geographic photographer? If so I think I would put that on my business card, on my website, anywhere I thought people might see it.

I think technically you are right! (The best kind of right) I will certainly will do that! Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57249.71
ETH 3092.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41