The Enneagram Of Personality

in #life6 years ago

The other day, I took this Personality Test named Enneagram which talks about 9 personality types around the world. All the personality types are interconnected to each other, one personality type can behave like the other one in a particular state of being, like being stressed, being insecure.

As part of this whole process, I first had an online test which had 144 psychological questions, it took me almost an hour to complete that. Then the test reports came. I was in a batch of 30 people, a tutor came from US for our classroom session. We got our reports and then he helped us understand the whole Enneagram and how can you be sure about your personality type.

Enneagram = Ennea + Gram
Ennes : greek word for NINE
Gram : means something is DRAWN

The basic idea of Enneagram is to establish the personality type of a human based on :

-Emotional habits
-Pattern of Thoughts
-Way of interacting with others
-Habitual Focus of attention

This below is the Enneagram Circle :

246914E4-C00D-415C-BE6A-4DF79F05CAEC.jpeg

It represents the nine kinds of personalities that exist in the world out there.


How the Enneagram works?

It is based upon three elements of our being:

-HEART
-HEAD
-BODY

These three elements comprises all our the cosmic energy related to humans. They base their research and findings on:

-How do we think
-How do we Focus
-What do we want
-What are our driving factors
-Our approach
-Who influences us
-Our Chosen environment
and the most important : our Emotional Driver.

Here is a interesting chart :

3C7F8BF7-DA6D-4AFE-AF25-44CF95B508BC.jpeg

To help you understand and decide your type, let me give an example, I can be influenced by 'People' or 'Ideation' or 'performance', but I am aware that it is the PEOPLE who influence me, so I can think of myself as :"SOMEONE IN THE HEART TRIAD" so I can be one number out of 2,3,4 personality types.


But what did my results say?

My report has my personality type as : "ACHIEVER", I kind of liked my results but I feel I could be an enthusiast, a helper. Although we can be any of the nine personality types at some particular point in life. Our 'general neutral state' are our results.

Here is my certificate about my personality type :

FCC6EA97-55DE-4D16-A71E-BEAA5A80D7F5.jpeg

There is lot more about this test, specially the three triads of BODY, HEAD & HEART which i will explain after making some reports and understanding them better.

Sort:  

upto what extent this test is actually helpful i do not know,but if we accept ourselve as a soul an tiny conscient entity residing inside this body and controlling this body,head and heart,we can better understand our personality.because every soul has some unique quality which gets affected by the situation and cirumstances of the place of its birth and accordingly personality also differs from person to person.

Right, i have heard there are no accuracy measures for something psychological, but i think tests like this helps in self evaluation and then self improvement. :)

I can't make out anything from these tests. At best, I think such tests are some kind of game that interests most people, and keep HR professionals occupied.

I see that they could find out only 9 personality traits to categorize humans. There can be infinite no. of traits (if their language have a word for every trait), many of them overlapping or coming into play at different times. But if audience is satisfied then it's a good game 😊

nope calling a psychological test a game is not right.

Have you thought about that the way we think and perform actions have patterns, everyone has psychological drivers. I believe much in human psychology and i think how we think and do makes all the difference, and we all can be categorised to some extent, apart from that every single human is different in some way 😇😇

infinite number of traits, exactly and this all is a result of decades of studies. But no game, a studied test😁

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 64216.73
ETH 2767.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64