Get whatever you want, all you gotta do is ask.

in #life7 years ago

There is a phrase that I always tell people, "It's your world."

What I mean by that is don't be tethered to rules or blindly follow what people tell you.

Create your own rules and your own reality to live by. You should have a set of standards you follow.

If I'm returning something at a store and they tell me, I can't for whatever reason, I stop and think if this is fair or if I agree with what they decided. If I don't, I simply let them know.

If they say I can't return something because I opened it, I don't agree with that. How was I suppose to know I didn't want it until I tried it or what if it's broken?

In my world, I can return this.

I do a few things, I acknowledge that they don't except items that are open and make my request anyway. It will sound like this:


Me: Hello, I would like to return this 8-slice toaster. I understand that you don't usually accept returns if the box is open, and this box is indeed open, but I would like to return it anyway. After thinking about it, I am only 1 man and have no need for the other 6 bread slots.

Store Clerk: Sorry, I can't refund it.

Me: I know you can't but can I talk to someone who can.

Manager: Sorry, it's against our store policy.

Me: Yes, I understand. I know you don't typically take returns like this, but I need a full refund.

Manager: Ok, just this once.


The conversation above is real, well, I wasn't returning a toaster but the same concept. I live my life like this, a hotel says check in is at 3 and I tell them I need to check in at noon.

The thing is if you just ask, you might be surprised what people will do. I once walked up to a maître d' in a theater and said is this movie good? I want to check it out, but I don't wanna pay for it, mind if I check it out anyway? He said sure, why not.

The whole point of this is to not limit yourself or just agree with the way things are, don't be afraid to challenge things. I'd say about 95% of the time my crazy requests are accepted and it all works out in the end.

Next time you're told things are one way and you don't agree, try voicing it in a non-threatening way.

Source: 1 2


Resteem and help spread the love


Sort:  

We've got a badass! Haha, jk! I get into people's asses too. The people at my apartment took to long to fix my stuff, so I got onto them and they did it the next morning. And if it's a store like Walmart, you can usually get them to exchange it. I wore some shoes for an interview once and took them back the next day, haha!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66408.70
ETH 3225.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17