My hair evolution.

in #life8 years ago

Hello Steemit! Today I'll be sharing one too many selfies and take you through my hairstyle evolution. If you're also addicted to coloring your hair then you'll understand this love/hate relationship. If you've never tried it before and you have questions then I'll try my best to answer them. 

After a terrible experience as a teen I vowed not to cut my hair short ever again but as I aged I became less attached to my hair. In all honesty, I was sick of styling my hair and keeping it straight was boring. My hair stylist Mark Dolan was nervous about cutting it. He asked multiple times if I was sure or if I'd regret cutting it off, I didn't bat an eye and the deed was done! I actually have a hard time keeping it longer than a long bob. 

Below from left to right would be a retouch of my ombré look on shorter locks, a warmer ombré and then me going chocolate brown for the fall/winter. 

I've been told that I'd look good as a blonde and that I should give it a try, little did that person know that I've tested out several shades! Going blonde was a very long 7 hour trip that I took with my gal pal Ashley Mosel.

My natural hair texture is thick and silky and since the color was a dark brunette I had to double process it. I had a few trolls sitting in the salon thinking that I was aiming for an orange tone. I'm lucky that my hair survived this first round of experimentation.

Here's a look at the finished product after leaving the salon. After a few days blonde hair become brassy, purple shampoo is your best friend to keep it toned.

Overtime when my roots grew and I had to get them retouched, I set up another appointment at my favorite salon. This time I booked an appointment with co-owner at Evolution Experience Hair Culture, Michael Dahl. After chatting we decided to go silver for the remainder of the summer.

When you start seeing friend of friends asking you about your not so luscious locks, you know you did good. Then weeks later when they're rocking the same look, that's when you know you have to switch it up. I decided to courageously get bangs!

Below from left to right would be a fresh cut and then slow growth over time.

The silver eventually faded into platinum and I was craving a new dramatic change so I went on to test a few colors...

The first photo was a custom made blend. Mark wanted to go for the same grey scale color but with a blue undertone. When that faded I decided to get a rinse in color. This was to save me time and money. It looks great but it's also very messy and lots of upkeep!! 

The third look was an attempt to recreate the first look but for some reason my hair rejected the blue and instead turned into a dark greenish grey. My last color choice was a tough decision. I had to choose between purple or magenta, knowing how my faded greenish brown hair was, it was a pretty easy choice. 

Do your research or simply ask a professional. I trust my salon and they've always been honest with me about the risks of bleaching hair. Believe me when I say that I've had my fair share of breakage.

Here are my personal take-aways...

Cons: 

Can't wash my hair at night or I'd risk it breaking in my sleep.

It takes me 45 minutes to blow dry, my natural hair takes 5 minutes to air dry.

It's painful to see roots growing in because I could either wait it out or spend the cash for a touch up.

Pros:

Not every employer will allow unnatural hair colors, I was lucky that the trend is hot and my boss loves the look with a stylish professional haircut.

Changing hair color is definitely easier than getting a new haircut.

I was able to archive a fresh look every few weeks.

I attracted new clients from my look and there was this silent recognition that I had good taste. 

It was a huge confidence booster!


Now that I'm back to a natural color, I'm going to let my hair rest!

 

Thank you for reading! I tried keeping it short so if anyone has any questions then comment below and I'll be happy to reply.


Sort:  

Absolutely adorable. I started to go grey so used the opportunity to try colour and I'm loving it. Keep having fun!

Thank you so much!! I will! I'm itching to go blonde again next summer!

You are lovely

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60788.02
ETH 2632.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63