My first con!

in #life8 years ago

One of my greatest friends just joined Steemit the other day and I thought it would be a wonderful idea to share our first experience at The Chicago Comic & Entertainment Expo – also known as C2E2!

Traveling to Chicago wasn't anything new but traveling to see @Lonniedi to experience our first comic convention was something that we both could not pass up. I also didn't have to convince @Kommienezupadt to tag along, he heard the name Greg Capullo and he was all in.

I was sure to make time to shop for fabric, excited with the thought of sewing up my own cosplay. I didn't have enough time to purchase/download dress patterns so I did what I could and made it up as I went. Sadly, I ran out of time to finish my own cosplay but I did make a Princess Serenity dress for Lonniedi. 

So not only was I being spoiled with a fun weekend vacation with my two favorite people but Kommienezupat also surprised me with the Saturn Set from the Ayumi Moon Collection Handmade by Christina O. My boyfriend really saved me from not having a cosplay ready, I'm such a lucky gal.

Here are some photos of some awesome cosplays...  

There was so much activity buzzing around the entire event. So much to look at, so many cosplays to admire, super cute merchandise as far as the eye could see!!! My wallet was crying for me to stop abusing it that weekend.

I wished we had more time to enjoy the expo but here's a short list of what I've learned to help prep me for next time...

1. A detailed cosplay takes time so plan months in advance

2. Early birds get the best parking spaces

3. Early birds also make it on time for panel :(

4. Scout for the best prices when it comes to merchandise, I got my Luna P for $10 cheaper and avoided an impulse buy. 

5. Be sure to practice your best poses because everyone wants to take pictures!


Below is a video from my Snapchat story that I saved from our first day. If you'd like a glimpse of what our C2E2 experience was like then check out! 

Sort:  

Sooooooo cut girls with ugly and funny characters. It's cool.

Hahaha, thank you!

wow, looks fun. I have some the people in Singapore go through the pain to dress up for similar Expo in Singapore but I've never been to one. :-)

You should go one year! You don't have to feel pressure to dress up :)

Yes, I'm sure not everyone dress. Going there take pictures and do a post will be interesting.
Look like missed one last month.
http://www.singaporetgcc.com/

Oh you did just miss it. That's too bad. Their website layout looks so cute! Even if you could find a small community event that supported local artists, that would be fun to post about.

I did some more digging. seems these folks have a kind of club even.
http://www.sgcosplayclub.org/
I think there should me something happening towards end of the year.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59987.83
ETH 2418.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41