I wish this place existed when I was a kid!

in #life6 years ago (edited)


I spent the full day with family.


I slept over at my brother’s place the night before so I could accompany my sister in law to her doctor’s appointment, shopped at the mall for the kids and then we were on our way to pick up my nephew. It was nice seeing my tiny nephew and taking a break from my usual routine. Sometimes he’s such a butthead but a very cute one that I tolerate because I love him so much.

My sister in law and I picked up my nephew from school and headed straight to his dentist appointment at Tweet, the most kid friendly pediatric dentistry ever!

The waiting room was very tidy and the furnishing were comfortable.

They had a separate space with a playset for younger children.

The most surprising thing were the mounted tablets!

They had a wide variety of apps for children and even connected to the internet for more kid friendly games.

My nephew seems right at home.

Isn’t this the dream? Kids can look forward to playing games while they wait and forget about their worries.

When I was a kid, retails stores with a play area were always the best. I’d leave my parents to their shopping and I’m sure it was much appreciated.

My sister in law and I decided to join in on the fun. Kids these days are so spoiled with technology!

We were led to to backroom and I was beyond impressed with the work space. It’s an entirely open space! They do have private rooms for certain procedures to the side.

My nephew was given cool sunglasses to shield his eyes from the overhead lamp. SO CUTE! They made sure to give him a pair that actually fit.

That’s when I noticed the monitor mounted on the ceiling. Like....WHAT?! They seemed to have thought of everything to distract and give comfort to these kids.

A brief class in tooth brushing techniques. He did so well!

At the very end of the appointment kids are given a token for a prize.

What great fantastic reward system!

He got himself a green sticky hand.

I can absolutely see why most of these kids return with a happy smile. This place is perfect!


What do you think of this dental practice?


Thanks for stopping by!🦊

Sort:  

as a dental student I think the only thing that will work well with kids is the distraction through the things they like and as a dental clinic if you invest as this one did, the success rate will increase like crazy!
they have to feel like home, the basic clinic looks scares the kids right from the start.
great idea!! <3

It’s such a great idea! This is actually a new building since they had to upgrade because of their success. :)

obviously their method has worked and they are expanding it!
man the world has definitely has changed!
as you said, I WISH THESE EXISTED WHEN WE WERE KIDS! HAHAHA :D

Wow this place looks like heaven. I didn't know that it would be possible for them to make dentist trip to be fun, but ... look at all those entertainment gadgets!!!
                       
Amazing! The fee might be more expensive though? o_o

I bet their growing client list help pay for all of the gadgets!

I’m not too sure about the fee. I’ll have to ask my sister in law but I wouldn’t be surprised if they charge more since they’re the only ones around.

Fantastic job to the designers of the place for making a dentist visit fun XD

I thought screens on the ceiling were a normal thing as our dentist has them (they're in a little old house that was converted to accommodate the practice not in what looks like a purpose built centre like that one). Also another one off to the side which I think is more for them when they have to stick cameras into gobs but if you're interested they'll move it slightly and work on an angle so you can see too XD

And I think clinics not looking like clinics is the way to go anyway. And everywhere that has a waiting area should follow that example (as best they can anyway given the size of some areas XD)

Oh! I’m familiar with the little cameras in the mouth. Really fun to look at. @guthrie’s dentistry has a monitor too but they never have kid shows on and aren’t on the ceiling. I kinda have a feeling it’s more for the staff. They’ve always done a great job either way!

The waiting area here was a dream! I know kids tend to get nervous when there are several kids waiting with them with nothing to do.

From my country point of view this looks like pure SF hahaha. And if this existed in my time also I wouldn't be afraid now days with dentist..I am such chicken I even fainted once when seeing dentist giving injection to numb pain guy siting next to me :)
Still I think here I wouldn't be so afraid @vermillionfox :)

I remember having a little corner library when I went to the dentist and I’m also afraid of going to the dentist. I need to get some wisdom teeth pulled soon and I’m dreading it!

I can understand you totally, same here, waiting for a last moment to go :(

This is a practical practice! Your nephew looks very happy, I think he had not seen a child so happy to go to the doctor!
The place looks amazing and with everything that is equipped that the clinic is good to forget the child who goes to the dentist and his visit is pleasant and not like some children who think that dentists are ogres that will take all teeth

I’m glad he was happy. I guess his last visit was hard on him and he cried but this time he was very brave. ^^ I’m very proud of him.

Yes super! I think it's a very good task that the doctors did to try to make the consultation more fun.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97