I’ll try almost anything once

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Tonight I attended my very first NXT wresting event.

I know nothing about wrestling besides characters like The Rock, Batista and John Cena. My kid cousins were really into WWE when they were....6-7? Beyond that, I’m utterly clueless.

@kommienezuspadt landed us some tickets from a friend who referees for these matches. Pretty awesome because we’re low on cash going into the holiday season. I was told that I’d get to meet some of @kommienezuspadt’s old friends and that was enough to get me to tag along. We even brought @guthrie and @tarotbyfergus. It was a little sad because we told @guthrie that we were going to the Twin Cities Veg Fest, which he believed. He’s notorious for being a Debbie downer when he learns of our surprise plans and always says that he’s gonna have a terrible time. We continued to keep this a secret from him and he ended up shedding tears in the line going into the auditorium, saying that if we were going to a veggie festival then his night would really suck. We scolded him for acting spoiled and he immediately apologized for his behavior. Seeing this makes me wonder if I should wait until he’s a bit older to bring him with me to larger comic conventions like C2E2.

There was an hour and a half wait before the event would start. @guthrie was bored by then so I loaded him up with soda and sweets to keep him going. Then the curtains were drawn, lights shut off and the lights began to flash. I know @tarotbyfergus was having a mighty good time!

Seeing a wrestling match up close and personal was very interesting. Definitely something that I probably would have never seen if @kommienezuspadt wasn’t my partner. There were so many die heart fans and surprisingly, lots of younger kids. I guess this version of wrestling is considered all ages versus the death match stuff that @kommienezuspadt was into.

@guthrie was super pumped up after the first match and by the third he was bouncing off the walls, trying to wrestle his dad.

Look at how focused they are! 😆 @guthrie was getting extremely worked up. He didn’t know who he was cheering for, had a handful of questions and spent a good amount of time trolling @tarotbyfergus. I’m glad he had a good time but I really hope he doesn’t try wresting his classmates come Monday morning.

10PM rolled around and @guthrie had run out of gas to finish watching the very last match. I think it was the combination of sugar and adrenaline that wore him out.

I was kinda done too. Two hours of nonstop wrestling kinda reminds me of the Minneapolis Burlesque Fest. You can indeed have too much of a good thing.

On our way home I was asked if I liked it. It’s not exactly my cup of tea but I can definitely appreciate the athleticism.


Tell me something new that you tried this year for the very first time!


Thanks for stopping by!🦊

Sort:  

Hehehehehe in the end it was not so bad for Guthire
I see that he had a lot of fun, maybe dad is going to teach a few tricks of the fight! heeheh
I've seen some fights on tv, (I have time without doing it) although yes, as you say! being a couple of someone who is going to hit him at every moment must be stressful, I would cry hehe.
You can see, take many hits I do not think it's very easy .. ;(

Great post. It doesn't seem like you are getting the likes it deserves though. Have you checked out the upvote communities? You should check out steemengine. or steemfollower.com.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 63013.55
ETH 2460.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64