What a great birthday gift: Scuba diving

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Yesterday was my birthday, and I got a scuba dive as a gift from my sons. I was thrilled about it.
At a 09.00 o'clock we we're picked up at the hotel to drive to the diving school Crete.

The drive to the diving school felt like we were in a F1 car, the driver drove insane but we got there in one piece.
when we got there we had to fill in some paperwork for insurance purposes, after that we had to watch a instructional video for the basic diving knowledge. It was a bit outdated video which had more of something of Tel-sell :) But it was interesting.

Then went of to fit the gear :) I felt like a ham-rol in the wetsuit :)

It was thirthy degrees celsius, so in a wetsuit, with the tank on your back it was getting quite hot and the wet suit got into a sweat suit :) but we did have fun.

With the gear on we got some instructions on how to in- and decrease the air in the jacket to level in the water. Later on I noticed that it was very precize :)


My boys, proud on these two, they gave me another unforgetable day

So finally we went to the water, and boy what a relief.. I was cooling down my temperature in a very pleasant way. The gear on my back was becoming light to, so that was great...

In the water we had to do some tests, one of them was to put your regulator (the thing in your mouth which you breath trough) out of your mouth, let it loose for some seconds and then put it back in your mouth. This was done in case of when you loose it in the water and not going to panic several meters under the surface. It was a bit strange to do, but if you stay calm there is nothing to worry.

So finally we went into the sea. At first the sight wasn't that good because of the rough waves moving all the sand and made the water unclear..

But when we got more offshore the water was turning clearer. It was great to see my kids diving like pro's :) they weren't worried for a moment. There was a lot of stuff on the bottom of the ocean, all sorts of ropes and old ankers of ships. I wondered how the boats would lose a anker, maybe a bad rope :)

The Greek shore isn't really famous for the great underwaterlife, and we experienced that lol.. We did see some fish, but there weren't a bunch of them and certainly not the real exotic ones. But that didn't bother us because the diving on it's one was a great experience.

When we got a bit deeper we had to clear our ears, the pressure made them pop-in, so they had to pop out of course. A easy technique, but under water a bit more difficult with all the water :P

We've been underwater for about 45 minutes, it was a really great adventure, had a blast experiencing this with my sons.

Thank you Sam & Senna, for this great day and gift

Have a great day everyone, I know I will :)

Steem-on

Sort:  

Wow, that's a great gift! And doubly so that you can see how well your boys are growing up that they would even put it together for you.

Happy birthday!

Yes, great isn't it. I was thrilled when they told me. And like you say, that they even arranged everything themselves... They are some guy's :) Love them. Thank you !!

Diving is good fun and very dangerous at the same time. I got my PADI in 2003 in the Maldives but haven't done a dive since. How deep did you go?

We went about 8 meters. It was very much fun, but indeed I can imagine some situations you rather wouldnt have under water ..why didnt you dive anymore after padi ?

8 metres is pretty safe really, and enough to give you a taste of what its like. I don't know why I don't dive anymore, after the effort of passing the 'exam' the desire faded away.

I have been down 30m and its a little different. You can get memorised with the bubbles and lose your crew if not careful.

My first dive was a wreck too, I don't know what the instructors were thinking.

Wow 30.metres, thats deep.... I thought 8 was perfect lol haha .. I'm not a big hero.in the water :)

Diving is so much fun. Too bad you did not see a lot. That’s the best part in my opinion. There is a whole nee world down the surface of the water and even by diving we can only see a fraction of it. Amazing right. Happy birthday!

Thank you , yes there is so much to explore under water. Wish we could have see some more, but the diving itself was a great experience.

I knew it was awsome I have My paid licence aswell dived in a few countries not in greece though. It looks great the three off you. Great that they Made pictures. But indeed 30 meters is very different. At 7-8 you See more fish and keep safe. I havent been diving over 5 years now. With the little ones we were in different non diveable places or I didnt feel the need but seeing the Suits and tanks it did get me excited! So maybe. Glad you liked it and could share with the boys. Enjoy

Cool :) I think it is fun but I dont know if I would go for the padi certificate :)

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=verhp11
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=what-a-great-birthday-gift-scubba-diving


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66753.89
ETH 3256.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34