You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: "Burn in Hell, Filthy Jew" - Why being an Israeli online SUCKS

in #life8 years ago

@techslut I consider you a friend but the second paragraph of this post definitely rubbed more than a few nerves in me.

Today was a sad day for the Israeli nation. Today we buried one of the best people to live and work in this country - Israel's 9th president, Shimon Peres. He died at the age of 93, and worked for peace and prosperity of all people living on this land for as long as he physically could. And then some.

I remember when he was President of Israel and every time I turned on the news I saw something about him invading Palestinian areas, bombing them, cutting off food and medical supplies to them and much much more.

Now I will be the first to admit I don't have all the facts and American media is renowned for skewing the truth so I don't put a lot of stock in what I see on the news. It does make me seriously question a person when I see so many bad things attributed to them. Just like I feel about Obama now. Our President is a sorry excuse for a human being that has broken virtually every promise he made to the American People and has done more to stir hatred and racism in this country than any President we have ever had.

I personally believe that Shimon Peres wanted to do the right thing and Unite the Israeli and Palestinian nations, but he failed miserably at that and will forever be blamed for the deaths that occurred during his Presidency.

Having said all that, I want to thank you. You see the first day you and I met here on Steemit you told me who you where, were you lived and much much more. I feel as if we made a connection and developed a mutual trust early on and I hope that never changes. But if you can speak your mind, then so can I so please take no offense when I say:

If you remove Religion from the equation and look at just the history and archaeological record of the area currently occupied by Israel the question of "Who is the rightful owner of that land" comes into question.

Now I don't know who was there first, but from reading History of the area and researching Archaeological Findings from the area it would seem that the Palestinians were there first.

Truthfully, who was there first is irrelevant in this, the 21st Century. There is absolutely no reason whatsoever for Judaism, Christianity, Muslim and/or any other religious belief to be at odds with any other religious belief.

It is time for the leaders, both government and religious, to GROW THE FUCK UP and start living what their religion teaches. Peace, Harmony and Good Will to everyone.....then let God, Allah, Buddha or who ever do the judging in the afterlife.

Sort:  

"I remember when he was President of Israel and every time I turned on the news I saw something about him invading Palestinian areas, bombing them, cutting off food and medical supplies to them and much much more."

Such decisions in Israel are made by the Prime Minister. The president's role is mostly ceremonial. In any case, I strongly recommend you check what Shimon Peres has been doing for the past 20 years. I am the last person to support war or violence. Or those who promote it. But that's hardly the issue here.

Religion is... bad. I have respect for faith, but once you organize it and "aim" it at things, it gets ugly. Nationalism is similar. Now, when you mix the two? Shit proceeds to hit the fan. Personally? I don't care who "owns" this land according to what religion or archeology. It's had so many owners over the centuries, it matters little. I just wish people would stop giving so much power to lines on maps and imaginary friends in the sky when it ends up costing in people's lives and suffering.

Just to compare - I've had friends die in terrorist bombings. It tore my soul to bury a peace-loving hippy musician who was at the wrong time and wrong place and died because he's a Jew living in Israel. And I refuse to let that turn me into a war monger or hater. It hurts, but the pain makes me desire peace more, rather than retaliation.

I used to watch a show called Babylon 5, and an alien named Delenn once said something very wise: "In an eye-for-an-eye and tooth-for-tooth world, everyone will remain blind and toothless."

This reply came out waaaay longer than I intended.

I love Babylon 5!

I have Ivanova's Playboy autographed. I spent some time with her when she visited Israel. #showoff

Yes I know, but go ahead and rub it in some more!

I have pictures.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60970.82
ETH 2602.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65