All humanity is precious

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone. My name is Brian and this is my first post on Steemit. I see great potential for this website and an exceptional way to provide an opinion or idea whilst being rewarded. Please try and understand my view of the situation and tell me your interpretations.

I myself am a student and in an environment where you are expected to succeed and worry mainly about yourself, it is difficult to give others a share of your hard earned capital. There is no reason to give anything to someone just because they are lesser than you. But that my fellow viewers is a one sided excuse. That idea in my head changed from a single experience.

It was a Monday where I was on a trip with my family. Our last night on this trip was to be celebrated with a fine dinner. We left the apartment and drove to a well known restaurant district. While walking I noticed next to the street was a homeless man who was ignored by many of people leaving and entering these restaurants. As we approached my family walked passed and so did I. But then he looked up into my eyes and that was when I witnessed this man's smile and eyes. He may have been homeless, but I truly saw a man with a good heart and the sense of hope. After leaving him behind I knew my way of treating people asking for something small had to change. My perspective of small needed to be changed.

After turning to the next street, I ran back knowing that I couldn't leave him behind. When he saw me again, he stood up to greet me. When I gave him some money, I felt like I could have given more. But he was so gracious that he shook my hand and said "How did you know?"

"I didn't. All I know is that you were the person asking. "

He told me that I was the best person he had met in so long that I almost cried. This was an emotion that I had been longing for.

So now I wish all of you who are reading to know that someday you will be faced with the opportunity. Give not only your money but your compassion. Success would never give you the same sort of happiness. Only love did on that day. Unconditional love for all humanity.

Why? Because all humanity is precious.

Sort:  

I truly understand that there are some people are not as lucky as we are, some doesn't have a home to live and some a family to spend time with but for us who have that thing in life we have to treasure it. Welcome to steemit and good luck.

Hi purepinay
Thank you for sharing your thoughts about this issue. Being in such a privileged life, we cannot help but ignore these people in desperate need. What the world needs is a little compassion to make it whole again.
Thanks again!
Brian

Loading...

Welcome to Steemit! I love your desire to treat all people well. This is an area that society is sorely lacking in. I've devoted a lot of time teaching my kids that all people should be treated with kindness and respect. "Let no unkind word pass your lips" is a quote you'll hear often in my home, I want my children to be compassionate. Thanks for practicing compassion rather than just giving it lip service.

Hey ilovedietcoke (nice name btw)

Thanks for your comment. It's nice to know that you believe the same. We are only human, so be as human as you can be! Try your best to make a day worthwhile for someone else.

Brian

Congratulations @velerum, you have decided to take the next big step with your first post! The Steem Network Team wishes you a great time among this awesome community.


Thumbs up for Steem Network´s strategy

The proven road to boost your personal success in this amazing Steem Network

Do you already know that awesome content will get great profits by following these simple steps, that have been worked out by experts?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63281.14
ETH 2674.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79