Down But Not Out - Vegascomic Is Back From The Near DeadsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago

A few weeks ago, I'd gotten all settled back in to our house here in Las vegas and resumed blogging here on Steemit. I was having a great time and getting back into the swing of things. We'd gotten my wife Lori alI well and things were looking good. I was posting my MLB bets and from the graces of the gods, was winning at a nice pace.

I suppose I was feeling a bit cocky and spent one fine evening celebrating with a stuffed crust pizza .. and DOWN WENT @VEGASCOMIC! I broke out into a cold sweat and couldn't even find the strength to stand. I thought my blood sugar had dropped dramatically so I mustered up the gumption to eat a little more, which seemed to calm me down.

I'm an Army Veteran and since I'm between contractor gigs at the moment, the VA Health Care System is my health care. Lori really isn't the best person to drive me through the heart of Las Vegas to the VA Hospital up in North Las Vegas, so we called my Dad and he came to my rescue and drove me to their emergency room.

gangerous-gall-bladder-2.jpg

It turns out I had a gangrenous gall bladder that was about to emit some pretty dangerous stuff into my blood stream, which would in all likelihood have killed me. This is where I want to give credit where credit is due. The Southern Nevada VA Medical Center essentially saved my life and did a great job of everything. I can't say enough about the way I was taken care of before, during and after the surgery.

The picture above is visual evidence of about 35 years of hard partying. There's been more booze, weed and incessant carrying on in my life that eventually caught up with me. Without a gall bladder now, I've been placed in the grim reality of making a lot of life's changes.

I wasn't sure whether or not to post that picture and since this is the first time I've been able to sit t the computer for more than five minutes at once, I figured what the hell. It's not every day that you get to see the insides of a fellow Steemian. Since the staples and drain tube have been removed, I'm getting my strength back and will keep posting daily if possible.

Thanks everyone!

Sort:  

You know that would be the most bad ass bowling ball design.

Oh hell it would make a neat marble. Cool pic!

Sorry to hear about your misfortune, but glad you're on the mend! What kind of changes will the lack of a gall bladder cause? I'd always thought it was one of those "extra" organs that just gave you gallstones but didn't do much good!

It works in conjunction with the liver and stores bile. From what I've been told, I have to eliminate food high in fat so the body can handle digestion better.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64401.36
ETH 2627.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83