WHY do we get embarrassed about these normal life things...?

in #life7 years ago

I was just eating a kiwi.

and some internal dialogue happened in my head that went something like this...
"Why is kiwi so hairy... it's such a strange sweet fruit..."

"Those little seeds always be in my teeth!"

"I'm glad I'm alone... what if I was on a first date and there were kiwi seeds stuck in my teeth?"

"Don't worry, it would be adorable... if whoever I'd be on the date with had a problem, no second date for him! I'd still feel a little embarrassed though... I hate finding out there was food in my teeth when I go to the bathroom but was out there for so long"

"Wait... why should I be embarrassed? We literally have teeth for the purpose of eating... why is that embarrassing" ![]

()

THEN

It occurred to me...

We get embarassed about SO much!!!! WHY?!?! They are things that are actually COMPLETELY NORMAL! Such as (from the perspective of a young woman)

Body hair... like... it grows on everyone... it's totally normal.... When did people decide it was dirty or ugly? Or the best one, unlady-like...?

Farts... I mean, I get it... clearly, but still... EVERYONE has to do it!

BREASTFEEDING. HOW. Why is this still a problem? Let the babies eat freely! We were ALL babies once! As long as mama is feeding baby, WTF is the problem!??

Crying. Life happens, hormones happen. Crying is literally a healthy response (generally speaking). Why can't men cry too?

Add anything else if you think of it.

Sort:  

Cool! I follow you.

Congratulations @vegansongbird! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @vegansongbird! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60320.14
ETH 3373.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51