First Day of School Activity/Ice Breakers

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Good morning, Steemians!

IMG_3254.JPG

I just thought that I would share some of the things that I've done with my students on the first day back at school.

Each student gets eight sticky notes. Then, they are given a series of eight questions. They number their sticky notes from 1 to 8 and write the answers to the questions on each sticky note.

IMG_3262.JPG

Then I group them in pairs or in threes and have each group started a different station. Each station has the question posted on the wall.

IMG_3254.JPG

IMG_3255.JPG

Each student then posts they're sticky note to the corresponding rotation center and he or she speaks with his or her group about what they wrote down for each question. After a few classes you start to have a lot of sticky notes.

IMG_3256.JPG

IMG_3257.JPG

Students can then start to begin talking about themes that they see for each question and maybe talk about oddball answers.

IMG_3258.JPG

IMG_3259.JPG

After 2 to 3 minutes all groups rotate clockwise, until everyone has posted all of their sticky notes and I have talked with their group about each question.

IMG_3260.JPG

IMG_3261.JPG

I stole this first activity from a lady on YouTube named Laura Randazzo. She's got a whole website devoted to teaching and I will link the video right below here.

Since the beginning of the school year is very scripted and there's a lot of procedure things we need to talk about, we don't have too much time right away to do other things.

But, one of the other icebreakers I like to use is that I will give each student an index card. On one side and they will tell their first and last name, how many pets they have, their hobbies, their favorite class and what they did over the summer. On the other side we play a game called two truths and one lie.

IMG_3263.JPG

This is just what it sounds like students write two things about themselves that are true and one that isn't. Then, I take volunteers to read their three statements and we as a class have to figure out which one we think is a lie.

It's a pretty fun game and the students really like that one.

Thanks for stopping by, Steemians!

Hansen's Gift.gif

Sort:  

This is much better than the "everyone go around and introduce yourself and say something interesting about yourself" game. I hate doing that! All the introverts in your class thank you :)

Pretty cool icebreaker. I will share it with my fellow teachers.


Please consider posting under the steemiteducation tag

The first days are always fun! So many fun things to do.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59239.68
ETH 2525.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50