Introduction - Invest in yourself

in #life7 years ago

I guess I should have done this with my first post, but a bit of background about me. I am a married 32 year old professional male and i have a car, house, job etc and so too many I am considered a successful person. Yet, have joined steem it and one of the main reasons was I have learned so much in the last few years in terms of self development that I continue to wish to learn and give my knowledge to others.

I was one of those people that struggled to make conversation, it seemed it does't matter how much I worked out I was always overweight, I was socially awkward, what seemed easy for everyone else was difficult to me. So though on the outside I was successful, I was dying inside.

Yet one day I had a light bulb moment.. rather than hitting a bar and drowning my sorrows (after a few drinks was the only time I had confidence) I thought why not be the best version of myself? I research and started seeing a psychologist who I used to specialize in gaining confidence and being more assertive (i was a push over most of my life). It was nothing over the top but focusing on reality rather than my mind playing tricks on me and over worrying about every person or situation. I then joined a sporting club and trained more than I need too.. I went from being a bench player to being one of the first named on the team sheet... we won the league that year and was a great moment in my life to have accomplished something and surprisingly enough... a few months after that I met my wife....

Perhaps it was fate, but if i didn't do those things above, I probably would not be the person I was when I met my wife... so it clicked to me that all of us need to be the best version of ourselves... so when the time comes that you get the interview you always wanted, met the pretty girl you always liked... or stand up to for yourself in any situation... you have the confidence in yourself that you are the best version of yourself!!!!!

We always invest time, money into so many aspects of my life.. yet funnily enough we always put ourselves last.. spending money on a trainer / life coach / mentor... is seen as an extravagant spend... yet if we can't invest in ourselves and be the best we can be then is it worth spending money / time on everything else except for us???

Sort:  

Congratulations @veenzstar! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 63148.13
ETH 3109.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51