Never Call The Cops On YourselfsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago

Last weekend, I encountered someone who was either amazingly uninformed, a complete ass, or intentionally working against his self interest. As I was pulling into my local auto body shop to get my check engine light checked out, my car jolted forward with a bang and I realized that I had been rear ended.

There was no immediately visible damage to my car and I was ready to let the fellow off without calling my insurance since it was 105 degrees out and I still had some errands to run. When I approach the man who hit me, he began to accuse me of being the reason the accident happened, with no good reason as to why. I realized he was probably trying to pin blame on me and figured I would be an easy target as someone younger than himself. I tried to explain that it could not have been my fault, since he hit me. I gave up these efforts after he got on the phone with his insurance and started filing a claim against himself.

After having a laugh with the mechanics about how dumb the whole situation was, I was able to get a video of the collision from security tapes on my phone. Surprisingly, this guy watched the whole video and looked at me and stated "clearly from the video this was your fault" as if we had just watched a completely different scene unfold!

Just as I was getting ready to call the police to file a report on the accident, a squad car pulled into the parking lot and I realized what must have happened.

This idiot just called the cops on himself!

The police watched the security footage and immediately took my side.

The guy who hit me got a ticket for not having registration or current proof of insurance.

I am now going to get my car inspected to see if he will be paying for my repairs.

What is the moral of the story?
Take responsibility for your actions. And if you aren't going to do that, at least don't call the cops on yourself.

Sort:  

I like the way this story turned out, how these people get a license is beyond me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66521.28
ETH 3454.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67