You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Migrant Farm Workers in the United States: Photo Essay

in #life6 years ago

There are quite a few migrant workers in the summer in my area. They come for cherry season. You regularly see them out and about around town, but I have or idea where they live for the summer. Housing is really expensive here. My city was recently ranked in the top 3 percent for most unaffordable cities in the US. It is possible they live outside of the city closer to the farms and just come to town to shop. I am really not sure though.


So many people fail to realize the broad effect that climate change has on the world. It literally affects everything.

Sort:  

My grandfather (paternal) had quite a large farm. We left that community when I was eleven and never went back so I don't know much about it, but I do remember that a large contingent of migrant workers came by every summer. And I remember the kids in school. Even as a very young child I felt bad for them. It seemed they were just holding places until they moved on. A small community can be very hierarchical--your social status is inescapable. Add to that race, and they pretty much didn't have a chance around there. I wonder how much opportunity they had anywhere. Anyway, that memory always stayed with me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58394.86
ETH 2618.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39