My experience about my first half marathon

in #life7 years ago

IMG_2381.JPG

Half marathon

Today I'm very happy because I've completed my first half marathon in less than 2 hrs. . So today I will share my experience with you. And how I achieved my target. I'm getting very awesome support with you guys . So thank you for all this. One has to run 21 km so as to complete a half marathon. A full marathon consist of 42 km running. So half marathon is half of 42 km which is 21 km

IMG_2379.JPG

Preparation

Practice is the key to success in such events. You can't just run 21 km without practice.

How to practice-

  • First of all you have to be patient.
  • It takes a while for your body to adopt according to marathon needs.
  • I will recommend that you should try to run at a slow pace initially and gradually increase the distance
  • don't run on roads in starting it can damage your knee cartilage.
  • Start running on Grass or sand it will provide nice cushioning.
  • Right type of footwear is extremely important
  • Never buy shoes on the basis of their visuals. I recommend asking a expert first because there are varies types of shoes available for different types of runners. It's related to how your foot strikes the ground, toe strikes first or back of your foot
    . Right pair of footwear can improve your running posture.
  • Run for about three months on grass or sand then you can continue on road

IMG_2373.JPG

Nutrition

It is very essential for proper development of muscles. So I will tell you what you have to eat Before marathon, during marathon and after marathon.

Before Marathon

Before marathon your body should be sufficiently charged don't practice one day before. Just relax an eat carbohydrates in your diet. some sources of carbs are brown rice, sugar, honey etc.

During marathon

During marathon you should focus on hydration and carbohydrate intake. I will prefer buying some running gels that will provide you instant energy you can consume them every after 30-40 min. Take some water with you although organisers provide hydration points but if you are practising alone then you can buy a hydration belt. in which you can put water bottle gels etc. It will work well if you mic some electrolytes in water because you loose them while running.

Post marathon

Your only goal after marathon should be restoration of energy. You should intake protein to repair your muscles. If you are unable to consume protein then your muscles will not grow and you will feel tired, so maintain your protein requirement. some protein rich foods are

  • Eggs
  • Meat
  • Beef
  • Pulses
  • Chicken etc.
    Rest as much as you can until you feel normal

IMG_2370.JPG

So I hope you like this post

If you want to share it with other people please resteem

Thank you very much

Sort:  

Thank you so much for sharing this! I am doing my first half-marathon in April and this information is valuable. What kind of training regimen did you follow before the marathon? I am alternating between 3 and 6 mile runs right now but not sure if that's where I should be..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01