"If you are good at something, never do it for free" - Really??

in #life6 years ago

Have always come across the tagline "If you are good at something, never do it for free".. If you are a Joker fan (The Dark Knight), then you might remember the scene where he quotes this line when he gets a lot of money and the very next minute burns it down.. 

As a professional photographer, I normally find people investing a lot of time on their business than actual photography.. Yes, we all are hear to make a living.. But should we forget completely about our passion and thirst that got us here??

The reason I do few free photoshoots is because I not only get to experiment but also get to nourish the artist within me.. It feels good and right.. Let's me shoot without any boundaries..

So far most of my free photoshoots or graphic designing works have helped me in building not only a good portfolio, but also helped me in networking, having fun at work, creativity, experience and many others.. But most important is, it always let's me be in action and helps me build quality relations..

Just go with the client to the location, click random pictures, have fun talking and checking what might be cool and just not having a plan.. You can't do any of these during a paid photoshoot.. You technically have to be very professional that time..

Personal and professional values are what we get when we do something for free.. Take happiness in return..Doing things I love for free doesn't mean "I have to do it", just that sometimes "I choose to do it"..

And to those who are getting a free photoshoot or any favours from someone, least you can do is take them for a coffee or a beer or a good dinner as a sign of your appreciation..

Not sure how many of you might agree to what i had to say but I'm open to answering your questions in the comment section below..

Steemit's one and only Superman signing out..


Sort:  

Great clicks superman.

Thank you :)

Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a to get your post resteemed to over 72,000 followers.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93