Do we want an excess amount of people using steem?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago (edited)

I've been seeing tons of posts about the development of this platform, and I want to say that I love the enthusiasm.

I was reading @acidyo s post and contemplated about the "masses" transitioning over to steem. I had to stop and think intently. Is this something I would enjoy? Money would rise of course, but inflation is inflation. Is the currency the only thing inflating? Or could the user base also be inflating. This can cause dilution.

It's a sad thing to think about. I understand that we all would love to be a united community, rising together, but how are we suppose to do that while there will always be an upper tier? How will it happen if you get drowned in the MIPS. I posted earlier today about chocolate, and I think only four individuals had seen it by the time I checked again. I understand I don't have a following or it may not even be worthy content, but I felt maybe more than four people should have seen it by then.

Will this community's integrity fall? The population will cause subsets upon subsets upon subsets of groups. How will it be unified? It's a beautiful hope that I'd love to see, but as more people come, the less special steem feels.

Maybe some sheep are supposed to die

As there is a limit in tokens (crypto), I believe a limit on the site could be a possible option. Creating more tokens only dilutes your crypto! It's supply and demand. I don't know how it could be implemented, but I see it as a future holder's "privilege".

Don't forget the trolls, and idgits.

@davidpakman @adsactly @donkeypong @ausbitbank

I believe that its some good debating material. I'd love to see what some of these people would say about the effects of an increased user population.

Sort:  

I'm new to the platform, and I agree it's frustrating when good content doesn't garner much attention. However, if we consistently post impressive content, it will rise to the top.

Time will tell. At least we have a somewhat effective voting system.

What voting system?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59035.93
ETH 2519.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47