Monkey Suits

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Monkey Suits Mahn

Today my University held a career fair, ooooo buddy. How fun, do you mean that i have the opportunity to work a 9 - 5, potentially longer, and have the honor of receiving your "generous" two week vacation time. HA. 2 weeks bruh. Two. That's not even 10% of your year. You get about 5% vacation. 5%. I'll say it again, differently. 95% of your year you must work. Ewww. No thank you.

My lady friend and I both knew we were expected to attend this fair, our parents would be disappointed to not see us attend. Instead, we were right next door lifting weights together. It was in the same building, the wellness center for my college. I walked into the fair in a tank top, shorts, and headphones around my neck. Jean encouraged me to go in and talk to one company, I mean why not! I prevailed! I received a free t-shirt and some information to check out online. Will I?

I'll wear the shirt.

Did the man who invent college go to college?


Hm, Okay then.

-Hopsin

People have no trouble buying these clothes to go represent who they are not, and try to appeal to these fake societal expectations.

I do.

I'm not sure I ever want to buy a suit. I'm not sure I'd like to ever be in a situation that "requires" a suit. If I have to live that life, then it is not my life at all. I am allowing another painter to come over and mark my portrait. Hm. I'm not sure many would allow that, but yet they do.

Look at those robots above. They mindlessly do tasks, unconscious of time. Why are we in line with them? Why are we doing monotonous tasks for big corporations? Somebody created that corporation, somebody had an idea and made it happen. Everybody has ideas, only a couple make it happen, why? Because its easier to not have to think for yourself. Following the pretty yellow brick road paved by the system is exactly how people get to a point in their lives where they feel they have not accomplished anything for themselves and blah blah blah. Don't get there.

So, lets ask the question of why.

Why must I dress like everyone else? Why must I look so "Professional"?

Jesse Eisenberg plays the character of Mark Zuckerberg in the move "The Social Network". After developing the version of The Facebook, many venture capitalists were interested to invest. He walks in, with this attire on. How do you think these individuals would react to this. Do you shake a man's hand if he's in, god forbid, his jammies? Ew, you're not dressed appropriately, no thank you. No way, would they see that.

Power

Every little thing that you allow somebody to influence in your life, is you giving power to somebody else. You are entitled to this world, you are entitled to this life, you will have to hustle for your desires and dreams, but don't settle in areas. If I am groomed decently and am wearing casual business attire, I see no reason to given a position if seen fit. Do they want the kid with a 4.0 in a beautiful bought suit, purchased by dadday, or would they want the kid with wrinkled khakis, a 2.5 GPA, but work experience that is extremely signaling. You decide.

Comment below about your thoughts on our beautiful societal impression toward business attire.
Upvote with Love.
Steem on Hooligans!

Sort:  

Each institution must have certain rules and we can not change, clothing including a rule of the institution

I appreciate your statement! We do have power in our lives surprisingly. Rules are abstract concepts created by another monkey, just like you. There are alternative methods in life. By going down a different path, you can actually enter an entirely different world, a different reality.

I wish you the best! Keep Steeming!

But rules are important part in our progress forward, as civilization, don't you think so?

I'm not saying forget all the rules man xD I believe that the implementation of older times are obviously outdated and I simply would like to see my species adapt and move forward. Musk is making that happen in a way that makes me proud almost, yet so many were against his mission. Think of the grid layout on Mars, it will not be the simple square grid. Of course, safety is huge. If you think about it though, these rules aren't there. We actually put walls in our head, because we think they're so concrete, yet they're actually nothing. My main mission is to open peoples eyes and minds. If an individual is driving and becomes frightened because they crossed a line, well then the system is doing a great job. Their mind will not see outside the constraints they have been given. Of course I do not intend to alter beliefs that do not want disturbed.

People are scared of change, it disrupts, it alters their course, but most don't realize that you can have the power to change.

You could not say it better! I agree with you completly. The way i see it: we were wild specces once, i will say it untill few decades ago, so thank to this rules\walls we created in our heads we manage to become less "wild". Now, older times has done their part, we shall and we will move forward, im sure of that...only one questions im aksing myself, what will be the time to see a stabile change in our soceity? Im starting to think there will never be no stabilization for us, because we are constantly running ahead of ourselves, this is our nature...we will change and we will adopt, but from big picture im starting to see some closed circle in our " moving forward". I can't wait to see what will happen with this decentralization!

Decentralization will bring power to the people, as you suggest discreetly. We were wild, but I believe we should be wild to a point, wildly integrated with nature. A lot of people push nature aside due scientific beliefs, but as we enter this new age, many new age beliefs stem from the traditional eastern beliefs.

Its an exciting time to be moving into. I think that we're coming into a technological age that may give us time to reconnect with nature and maybe ground ourselves to realize we are nature. We have separated ourselves from our mother for too long, we must return. Its a must, at least for me, i know i will return.

Wait until you graduate and enter the real world. It is superficial, and unfair. People who work hard don't move up people who speak up to take credit do. People who dress well, and won the genetic lottery get to slack off, show up late, and have a bad attitude. First impressions are everything, and the suit helps. People will judge you before you get the chance to prove your work ethic. I work in a very superficial industry, and countless times I have seen better groomed, better looking people get promoted over their less genetically blessed, and harder working co workers. Life is hard, don't make it an uphill battle.

You're inspiring.

Truth sucks dude. I know it sounds like a downer. I sounded a lot like you a few years ago in college. Then I joined the real world with real deadlines and real bills. No safety nets. The fact is in college you can get away with playing by your own rules, because you pay them to be there. In the real world if your lucky your job will have a dress code. There is a higher percentage of jobs that you get a uniform, and a name tag so you can closer resemble the robots in the image you have up above.

There is a reason police, doctors, and construction workers wear a uniform. They are practical and serve a purpose. They are also a social construct that identifies them, can grant respect and authority to the wearer. The suit is the uniform for success. It helps. It opens doors. It gets you a seat at the table where you can prove yourself. You can wear khakis on the weekend or once you have a billion dollars in the bank.

The truth is not identical in two different worlds. If you want to play within this circle you may brother. I hope you find happiness in your path. I plan to not be discriminated against based on material possession and my freedom to display myself, me. You start there, it continues and spreads into your life. I don't know your life, so I can't state much. I sympathize that you forfeited your prior beliefs and settled. Of course service uniforms are something that can be agreed on. Good luck.

what does survival on this earth require?

Warmth, food, water and sleep.

3 off those 4 things are possessions. You have to live in this world to obtain them, and even if you own a swath of land and live like a tribesman you would have to subscribe to the rules of this world to have obtained it in the first place. Don't cheat yourself out of the opportunities of your youth. When opportunity knocks answer.

Go to South America, go to Africa, say the same thing. People don't even realize the choices that are around them because those ideas have been censored or ridiculed by their own system. People think that they must rely on it, I've seen it for a long time now. The possessions are only things that humans have created due to selfish value. Ownership isn't real, its simply something we've established to control who gets what. It isn't helpful in anyway. Natives in many places around the world live in a real community. They share those "possessions". We were all given whats here on earth for us. Food, Water, and warmth can easily be obtained without approaching the average rat race.
I was speaking about natural survival: necessities. Not what people have imprinted in the minds of other individuals. Ergo, Formal Suits, that are almost entirely required for professional acceptance.

I have had some extraordinary experiences, far outside the average scope, and the only reason that happened is because of my rebellious thinking. I'm not preventing myself from anything, but I appreciate the concern.

I mean no offense of course, I hope you know! I really enjoy the conversing that happens here.

Buy a pair of Levis they last forever
and never go out of style :)

Haha that's awesome. They can look real slick too!

Tú post me hace pensar en un lema que tienen los amigos de mi sobrino de 14 años, no te dejes influir, deja fluir!

Qué lema tan extraordinario. Me gusta decir que sólo montar el hombre de onda. ¡ Gracias por el amor, sigue steeming compañero!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63964.61
ETH 3433.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55