🚤 Voice of Steemit Short Story Contest: The Ship of Destiny

in #life7 years ago

image


I got informed today in the #voiceshares chat that there was a [Short Story] contest hosted by @andreanoronha.

Now I have no needs for the rewards, and to be absolutely SURE I wouldn't win I broke all the rules, keeping my story 100 words below required and even changing the name.

The reason I'm participating is to:

One: Share the contest so some of my followers might take interest and probably take part.

Two: I wanted to try writing a short story and see what I can muster.

Three: I might be broke AF to hold contests at this point but might as well give you guys an example and lead you to one, in hopes of inspiring someone to win some $$$.

Hope I've done a good deed, also I've never written anything like this so please tell me if I should continue in the future.

P.S: Everything is written by me and is copyright free, so share it if you find the need, also leaving a mention would be amazing :3

P.P.S: I did this in one take so there might be some grammar bugs, mainly because I didn't really edit it.


The Ship Of Destiny

In a town, not very far from here, there was a man who lived a life not any different than yours or mine. He had lived countless times, learning and expanding as time went by. He who knew that which no one could see, that which everyone had, yet was known by a small number of people.

He watched how the echo of existence moved him, shaping his road by the minute, the road placed by none other than himself. It was as if he was a ship, soaring through the tides, a ship without a compass, led by the winds. The man held much wisdom only to know that it existed, only to guard it's lineage. The ship he named his body and the sails were his mind, turning towards the way that the winds blew. The tides his emotions, pulling and pushing as he went farther and farther. He passed through many others yet they saw him as a mear life boat lost in the sea of souls, looks did deceive those who knew not where they were going. Yet he was on a mission of silence and patience, the mission he called life. When pirates passed he used the mists to hide, once loosing himself in the mist's which the sailors called "Fear" led him to a journey in the depths of the mist where he faced the kraken, waging battle for what seemed as eon's yet passed in a minutes time. Once the k kraken fell he saw it held a treasure the man knew not of, only to see once the beast sank and it floated on top of the sea. A gem which held a glimmer bright, known to many as the compass of light which showed one the way towards his destiny. The man had a look and gazed at its shimmer, only to throw it back so it may sink in hopes the light went dimmer. See, the ship had no need for any compass to tell him where to go, as he had his friends which he knew life's pasts, the wind and the tides to ride them fast.
The mists fell and the ship was on its way, towards the shores of a better day.

His ship was going towards a vision of a better world, guided by the winds of change.


Be Free

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64269.87
ETH 3393.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48