How to get through the " Writer's Block".

in #life6 years ago (edited)

изображение.png

The so-called Writer's block is when someone faces a brick wall, or in other words, simplified, doesn't know what to write about.

I've previously written about the different kinds of writers but the so-called block affects mostly people that are using their emotions as a source of writing fuel.

Sooooooooo, I decided to dedicate an article about this phenomenon and try to describe it in the best way I can, using my own personal experience as a daily writer.

A lack of Creative Topics


I'm a writer who uses his emotions as a source of inspiration, hence, taking the best parts of my emotion and trying to source them within one Topic that might fit.

One thing is certain, finding topics that fit specific feelings within a person is hard. I've noticed that my list of Writing Topics gets shorter and shorter by the day, it does that till one is forced to look for alternatives and is faced with the aforementioned Writers Block.

This typically happens to me when I am faced with a nonliquid or fluid surrounding or a day to day life that doesn't provide any emotional inspiration.

How do we pass it?


If you are an emotional writer like myself, one thing is for sure, focusing on finding topics, then writing about them does no good at all, it only leads to more and more questions and uncertainty as we go about.

It is even harder if a specific Niche is involved, this deprives the sources even more.

There are several things I've found useful for myself, things that help get the creative juices flowing. And they are as follows:

  1. Don't focus on payouts.

In the first two months, I used to focus on my post payouts and that turned into a source of motivation, it's a good source when you just begin but as you progress disappointment is inevitable. Even certain.

2.How you feel?

If you are using your emotions as writing fuel, always check how you feel before deciding to sit down and write. When you see how you feel ask yourself, which topic most suits the way I feel.

Once you find a decent topic you can skip all the stops when writing. You will notice how you can tear up the writing really fast.

3.Do creative stuff.

I've noticed myself prioritizing steemit a lot these days, which in the long run blocks me from enjoying some stuff in my daily routine, just because of that back thought that tells you "But you gotta write something today!"

So you spend your energy and discard some life events to see your hard written topic get devalued or sink under the pile of spam.

Enjoy life, write about the things you enjoyed and let it be once you post. The rest is history.

4.Dodge the Drama

Life drama is THE BIGGEST source of disappointment, not only in writing but in Life goals and Life experience in general. So dodging day to day drama can help keep your emotions fluid.

  1. Do nothing.

I recently found out that writing creates some stress in general, it's quite hard to see if you are used to writing a lot but specifically for me it does tend to build up with time.

So I also found out that spending a day or two in doing nothing related helps A LOT. Also gets the creative ideas flowing with abstract things.

Also watching movies, anime or playing some video games helps a lot too.

Those are the Five things I can think of at the moment being, although I'll find it lovely if someone is to share some ideas with me, so please feel free to drop a comment if you know something good that works.

Thanks for reading!

I try to keep my content as Original as possible, also I never use up voting automation. If you get an up vote from me, then I love what you do !

Sort:  

Something we all face! Great article to help get us all motivated again, and steemit is just the place to help us start and keep writing.

I am impressed by the amount of writing you do Goldie! Keep up the great work, blessings to you and your loved ones!

Thank you Brother ! All the best of wishes right back at you <3

Great tips!

Thanks to @ecoinstant, this post was resteemed and highlighted in today's edition of The Daily Sneak.

Thank you for your efforts to create quality content!

These are all excellent suggestions. There's a book called The Artists Way, and I highly recommend it. She suggests a host of things, including many of the things you talk about above. She also suggests free writing each morning even if it's nonsense or horrible just to get your brain moving and start your day creatively.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67918.33
ETH 3740.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69