Car Problems

in #life7 years ago (edited)


The car started making a noticeable spurious vibrating noise a bit over a week ago, which I can only describe as sounding like, "wonnnt." It first became noticeable when the steering wheel was turned sharply while driving, mainly in parking lots and other areas where sharp turns are necessary. After talking with some friends, bad CV joints seemed most likely.

Then I noticed it more when accelerating, especially up steep grades at a specific engine RPM and load. Now, I am also noticing it off and on at idle. All of this leads me to believe may be bad motor mounts.

I took a video shifting between park, reverse, and drive. I then put it in drive with my foot on the brake and revved it to get it under load. There was some movement but it's hard to know since I'm not sure how much play it's supposed to have. I haven't been able to see the mounts, not really sure where they are and can't really see under the car. More to come, if anyone has any suggestions, let me know.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Can't really put my finger on it right now, but I hope it gets resolved soon. Stay safe, man!

A recent thing that crossed my mind at least for the rattling is a heatshield, which wouldn't be bad if that were the case.

Good call, I've had a couple cars with a rattling heatshield. As long as nothing is falling off your car, you should be fine.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59273.25
ETH 2758.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28