I’m Not Lazy, Just Distracted

in #life7 years ago

My mother in law’s house is immaculate. She has a “formal” dining room that no one ever uses. The table is carefully adorned with a lovely tablecloth, color coordinated dinnerware, cloth napkins, and a beautiful centerpiece. Every knick knack in her home is strategically placed to compliment the furniture in the room or other surrounding objects. The towels in the ”guest” bathroom appear so fancy, they may as well be adorned with the words “Not for use for drying hands! For appearances ONLY!”

Now enter my house. My “formal” dining room table is scratched, and has some unidentifiable sticky stuff that I can’t seem to wash off. The table is usually adorned with kiddie homework, board games, and crayons. Sometimes my daughter dances on it. My knick knacks ceased to exist after child number two, unless you count the Coca Cola mug I use as a vase. With four kids, there is no such thing as a “guest” bathroom, and I am lucky if I can do my business without a kid pounding on the bathroom door. Oh, and my towels? Mismatched, and always missing when I need one. I am lucky if I can even find a toothbrush.

So the last time my mother in law came to visit my house, she criticized my housekeeping skills. Actually, she offered to CLEAN. Sadly, I had actually cleaned my house before she got here (I thought?). I guess I didn’t do a good enough job. (I will say that I did miss those cobwebs she so eagerly pointed out because my contact lenses SUCK!)

And this is where I say, “I am not lazy, just distracted.” (Well, maybe a little of both!) As evidence, I offer exhibit A, B, and C. This is the damage that was done today while I was TRYING to work on my homework (due this weekend).

You see? If my mother in law wants to be Martha Stewart, more power to her. As for me? A Better Home & Gardens home is just not  feasible for me right now. Or for the next 16 years.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63342.09
ETH 2658.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81