We've Taken the Tip, Now a Bit of the Meat; the Shaft that Drives the Tip of the Spear Through the Heart of the Beast

in #life6 years ago (edited)
Sort:  

Wonderful plan and if its open source no one will have the power over it to make us pay!
I agree that the new tools are cheaper and cheaper Chinese crap. I dont think it is because they can not make good tools. I think it is because they are being told to make them cheap so cheap is cheaply made.
I am sure the Chinese people can make quality products if they are paid for a quality product. But the Products mostly only come with a 1 year warranty and most end users are not like you and I that will make a tool work for them. So they will last a little past that one year and they they get to buy another one. The never ending cycle of consumerism has come to the point that they have perfected the disposable everything. But that the disposable products dont decompose themselves yet. I see that day coming soon.

Do you remember the mission impossible tape self destructing? That's what I am talking about melting right before our eyes.

I was very upset at the descent of Porter Cable to trash grade tools. I have a Porter Cable framer that is a bit heavy, but still my fav framer. I send my good tools out for repair when they need it. It's less expensive than buying a new tool, and instead of a new crappy tool, I get an old and well made tool back.

My jigsaw must be damn near as old as I am, as it has a metal body, which makes it much more durable than plastic tools. Oddly, I treat it like it was made of glass, because I don't wanna end up with some plastic self destructing mission impossible knockoff.

Before that day comes, I want to be able to make new bodies for the tools I have been using for decades, and that simply can't be replaced by modern craptastic knockoffs. I have a DeWalt screwgun that has been dropped a few times (!) and has become practically unusable as a result. The innards are still good, and I still use it from time to time, but the chuck is screwy and sometimes requires a hammer and chisel to operate, there are a few extra screws to hold broke off bits of the plastic body on, Gorilla tape for the peeled off grip, and a wire tie or two keeping the handle together after the screws stripped out.

I've experimented with melting, gluing, and some other tricks to keep the thing together. DeWalt doesn't sell the parts for it, and I don't want to give it up.

I have an impact gun I use mostly anyway, but for some things, impact won't do. I've actually considered trying to build a jig to remold the case =p

Rockwell was before Porter Cable and they were awesome. I started to see the crumbling take place when it became Rockwell Porter Cable. I have an old Rockwell belt sander that I rebuilt its a beautiful little machine. The case is pot steel but better than all the plastic crap sold today.

I bet you could find an body for your screw gun/drill on Craigs list or ebay. I gave my 18 volts away to a helper when I got my 20 volt Lithium ones. They are much lighter and mine seem to be very durable. I got a drill/impact combo with a case for less than 150. and I bought a drill only before that for 139 lol. The prices say it all. They should cost much more but there are so many knock of brands now they all have become cheap. The only way they are doing it is by not paying the Chinese worker a good wage.

Do you know how to make a fiber glass mold? Its pretty easy takes very little time just a little toxic dealing with the catalyst and resin. Also the way they cast pot steel would be a way to start out the process. But isn't you time more valuable than making a case for an old tool?

Well, I like to learn how to do stuff, and minor irritants often provide excuses for doing so. I haven't made anything molded of fiberglass, but I have worked with fiberglass. I made the roof of my tool trailer of fiberglass over OSB. Don't leak no more.

Modern electrical motors are much advanced over those in old hand tools, but gears, switches, and certain other parts are often made of metal powder nowadays, or otherwise of less acceptable materials. I'm very interested in using my Dremels with 3-axis printers as CNC machines.

That's kinda typical of the kinds of tinkering I want to do on 3D printers, adding to merely additive manufacturing. I reckon one good frame can support multiple printing, or 3D axis purposes.

I work for me, and my time is spent how I will, to the degree possible. I want to improve my tools, and don't really care how much I charge me to do so.

I had to look up Rosie. We considered getting a 3D printer 1 or 2 years ago, to make parts and such. But it's too damn expensive. I haven't looked around lately so maybe they have gone down.

As for coding...I have to look that one up too. What language to learn to create the software for a 3D printer.

Those that first make it best will first be free.
Thumbs up on that!

So what triggered the epiphany?

Loading...

You are pretty much on the mark about it. It is the puppeteers that control the strings.
I know for a fact that it won't be terror or the modern idea of terrorism that would bring humanity down. If it happens it would be the ghost of terrorism that would do it. At this point of time it has become an unashamedly open tool for curbing freedom little by little.

Bureaucracies are nibbling our freedom to death like a flock of ducks nibbling at our heels until we bleed out.

I'm over it. I'm going to try to create an alternative infrastructure model that can be duplicated and breed.

Thanks!

Glad to see your spirit man!
If we all do our part little by little, it will eventually add up....... in a big way.

What you're talking about is the complete automation of the production of any item. So you want not just robot factories, you want to eliminate the requirement for human design, engineering, and production management skills. As you've noted, the integrated software platform doesn't yet exist; however, ALL of the major elements do, and you can find FOSS approximations for most of them already (and all the rest soon, a matter of months, I'd predict).

I don't want to remove people from the design requirement, insofar as they want to design stuff. I do want most stuff to be able to be automatically produced, however, and, as you point out, that's mostly already possible, except that bespoke management of personal manufacturing is still very necessary.

I envision a system to do so that requires an order of magnitude improvement in control software, involving multiple printers, feedstocks, and quite a bit more. There are FOSS implementations, and they will continue to improve until they far exceed my feeble visions. I hanker for more better more soon, however, and am unlikely to write it myself.

Good code would go very, very far given the extant tech that hasn't been well integrated presently.

No matter what I do, or don't do, it will get there, wherever there is!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62964.22
ETH 2595.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74