Sort:  

That is very interesting. But don't we need structures to be biodegradable instead of bioimpregnible? Perhaps if we put more thought into building something that might last 20,000 years it would be a good idea, but what we have so far are the ruins of the future, blight upon the landscape. Let's save this technology for when robots are making all the building decisions.

If they didn't make concrete from fly ash, which is highly toxic, it would be just as biodegradable as any other stone.

Unfortunately, we are running out of aggregate with which to make concrete. Whole islands have sunk as a result of dredging ocean sand, five IIRC, in the Seychelles. About 40% of aggregate is now controlled by the mafia, since criminals don't care if they destroy the environment to make a profit selling sand.

Also, I hope robots never control all building decisions. Homes are very personal, and one of the things I like most about the work I do is consulting with folks about what personal touches they'd like, because adding them increases their satisfaction immensely.

These days it's hard to know where the Mafia ends and legitimate business (or government) takes off.

...and one of the things I like most about the work I do is consulting with folks about what personal touches they'd like, because adding them increases their satisfaction immensely.

I appreciate this too, but there are plenty of people who are happy to live in a generic condo or hi-rise apartment just as long as it's convenient. "Style" is important as it relates to the opinions of others, but as long as they can put their favorite picture over there, a nice throw rug here and a picture of their childhood dog next to their bed, they're happy.

Robots are now printing houses out of concrete. I envision entire honeycomb-like housing cells built to basic human needs with a sleeping platform, eating station, bathing and toilet facilities and perhaps a small area to gather. Built to last forever, a person or family could live in one their entire lives and when they die, simply steam clean the whole thing and let somebody else move in. Would solve a lot of problems.

That just really puts life in perspective.

I read about something like this years ago. It had to do with speculation of why so many ancient stone structures were so well fitted. The author said 'there's a fungus among us'..which secretes the concrete...(or eats it...I forget which) to make the seams between the humongous blocks of stone so small that a razor blade wouldn't fit between them.

If it wasn't for the fact that many megalithic structures were made of stone that wasn't sedimentary, I'd suspect there were other means of making concrete.

However, I have seen marks on stones that are absolutely certain to have been made when the stone was plastic, as if it had been heated. I strongly suspect that directed energy tools were used to plasticize the stone, making it easily shaped. Many of the stones in various megalithic structures bear peculiar marks, which would seem to be caused by a particular mold being used on that structure.

There is no doubt that copper chisels were NOT used to carve the stones the Pyramids were made of. That would be like using silly putty knives to cut steak. In many places you can see 'run out' caused by circle saw blades on the stones. You can't make a useful circle saw blade from copper.

As a result of this, I have actually worked on devices to do exactly that - heat stone using EMF until it's plastic and easy to cut.

It's good to know this. But it makes me curious because (and please no offence) what type of concrete mixture those building roads under Hitler were making as it was very durable. Really, it always puzzled me, because asphalted roads got potholes every winter.
But nowadays they make warm and very light concrete.

I know little of WWII era German construction. I have learned that the Romans made concrete of such good quality that some of it is still intact today.

And they did this without adding T. reesei. At least, as far as we know.

Well, that makes some sense, as the Germans during WWII built the road atop the Roman's road.

its good to be proven with a experiment.

Your reputation indicates you are very new on Steemit.

Thanks for taking an interest in my post =D

I have seen a lot of folks that self-vote on Steemit, contrary to the intention of the creators, and the benefit of the community.

Just so you know, I would have upvoted your comment had you not already upvoted yourself. I think many people besides me feel the same way. Certainly no one can criticize you for NOT upvoting yourself, although I am sure some do anyway.

If you use your votes to upvote others, your votes become ways to attract attention to your comments on people's posts, generate goodwill and create the desire to reciprocate, and encourage folks whose posts you enjoy. I think all those things are worth more than $.01, which your self-vote seems to have been worth to you.

Good luck on Steemit!

How recent is this research? I'm surprised that I hadn't heard of it before now. I could use a self-healing roof during typhoon season.

This is ongoing research, with no commercial products out I am aware of. Doesn't mean you couldn't make your own mix and use the idea, if you're not doing more than your own home, I bet the researcher would be happy to see the idea tested further.

At least, it's worth a try.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 63365.67
ETH 3398.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44