You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I want the best for you (Steemit exclusive)

in #life7 years ago

I have some perspective you haven't attained yet. I have kids approaching your age, and have seen my parents become whom I protect, from being my protectors. It's the way of life.

It seems like a role reversal, but really it's not. As we attain our full prime, and know we now must protect those that once protected us, it is difficult to see that additional wisdom they have accrued from their decades more experience.

I see my own sons coming to this point. It is difficult to restrain my advice, but I have realized they must acquire their wisdom as did I: by making foolish mistakes, and learning to regret them.

You speak with great wisdom, obviously aware you are just as human as everyone else, and this is a great strength. I have come to feel that humility is the trait I should most embody, and for this reason, I have endeavored to not provide my unsolicited advice to my sons - despite knowing they will regret deeply some things they have undertaken.

It is good to sincerely want the best for your family, and it is even better to acknowledge you aren't the judge of what is best for them. If you really feel that cannabis does no harm, I reckon you might be able to find the strength to share that with your father.

There may come a day when the opportunity to grow your relationship in that way will no longer be available, and it would be unfortunate if you missed any opportunity to broaden and deepen your mutual respect and love.

The death of my mother is a fresh raw wound yet, after only a few months. There is so much I regret not taking the time to invest in, that could have expanded our relationship. I remember once finding her at a party I attended, and having the opportunity to share a joint with her.

It was the only time we ever did. She was a professional in the financial industry, and also in politics. We rarely crossed paths socially, as I was a heavy metal musician (I remember when I was 16 and she first learned I smoked pot. She asked me if I injected it into my eyes, and that was why they were so red). LOL

She was 'slumming', and I was crashing a high end party, and we shared a moment.

It is one of my most precious memories, in a life as full as anyone's of turmoil.

As your parents age, you will find you are their protector ever more and more, yet don't confuse their frailty for foolishness. With more experience comes wisdom, and it can be the most precious gift you might ever receive.

Thanks for sharing this intensely personal and intimate glimpse into your life. I admire you a great deal, for your indefatigable devotion to justice, fairness, and reason.

May every reward of those good ends bless you all your days.

Sort:  

Just to be clear, I do not think cannabis causes any harm, but Troy has a thirty year old addiction to crack. Any time he drinks or smokes anything he goes back to that direction. He is still struggling with depression and emotional trauma from early in his life and is slightly institutionalized after spending the majority of the last 30 years in prison.

Thank you for the comments and support!

I couldn't pretend to advise you to do this or that, and am confident you can negotiate the hazards you are faced with.

It is good that despite what must be a heart-wrenching situation, you yet hold beneficial interest in your heart. Clearly, your heart is big enough for all the turmoil going on in it.

Could I support more folks like you, I would. There aren't many with such dedication to justice and compassion, and the wisdom to know the difference.

Thank you.

Sometimes I also feel that @valued-customsr especially in financial management. But in time I learned to be less critical of my parents because they are what they are because of my grandparents. I'f were not conscious what bad behavior to cut we will also pass it on to our children and grandchildren so it honk it's good to be self aware

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62809.89
ETH 2684.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56