Making flower pots from old car tires

in #life6 years ago

Hey, everyone! I hope all of you have had a great week, and are ready for the weekend. Life has been pretty busy lately, so as you can see, the frequency of science and nature posts have declined a bit. It's nothing going on really, it's just that the weather outside is great, and I don't want to spend all my free time sitting inside and writing, when I can instead go outside and take pictures and enjoy the sun. The sun in Norway tend to only stay for a little while, so I'm sure I will be back to normal soon enough!

Anyway, yesterday I spent most of my free time in my garden, and me and my wife decided to buy some spray paint to make some colorful flower pots from leftover car tires that are no longer good enough to use for driving. We found some pictures of it online, and decided to try for ourselves, but it was not as easy as expected, because we bought way to little spray paint.

We got 2 tires done, and two more about 50 % done. I suppose we need to buy another $20 worth of spray paint to finish them all, which means that this project ended up costing us a lot more than expected.

DSC_0892.JPG

This is what one of the finished ones look like:

DSC_0888 – Kopi.JPG

It turned out pretty cool, and it will be even better when we have several tires of different colors next to each other, all filled with plants and flowers in contrasting colors to the paint. And as an added bonus, I won't need to pay to get rid of the spare tires just yet.

Now I only need to find something to plant in them. I was actually considering to put a fern in one of the tires who are going to be standing in full shade, and I will probably go for Dryopteris filix-mas or fiddlehead fern (Matteuccia struthiopteris). Since it's still early spring, all I need to do is go out into the forest and find a young patch to plant in them.

DSC_0799.JPG
A Matteuccia struthiopteris that I found the other day. This should be a good size for planting in my tire.

The others are still undecided right now, so feel free to make some suggestions. Keep in mind that I live on Norway where it can get pretty cold even at summer, so I can't have all those amazing tropical plants I see so many people post pictures of.

Thanks for checking out my post! Have a great weekend.

PS: There is still two more days to enter my small competition where you can win 5 SBD if you can guess the dog breed in the photo! There has already been a lot of entries, but people have guessed a lot od different things, so it is a pretty high chance to win if you guess correctly.

Sort:  

Disse var tøffe @Valth.
Gleder meg til å se hva som kommer opp av disse etter hvert :)

Takk for det! Det blir absolutt spennende, men nå er spørsmålet heller om det kommer noe opp i det hele tatt, for ettåringen har "hjulpet til" med plantingen :P

Wow! This is such an amazing idea of making flower pots from the old tires,without wasting any money.
Reuse all the things that we can use for saving environment.
Great content and nice article.

Thanks @valth for sharing.

Yeah, it feels great to recycle old things to make flower pots :) I'm glad you liked the post!

You don't neeeeeeeeed to paint the tyres you know, much cheaper that way XD And black goes with anything right XD

We have a grapevine growing out of a tyre (or rather the tyre was around the grapevine when it was a seedling and well now it's there forever or until it's removed whichever happens first) and an abandoned tyre in the backyard which was supposed to be for a potato tower but apparently the chickens worked out there was yummy stuff in there.

Hope the paint didn't break your budget too much XD They're looking really bright and happy anyway, you'll have to take lots more process shots from planting stuff in them to when they're all merrily growing :D

goatsig

Yeah, it's a possibility to keep them black, but we kind of wanted to use them to add some brightness to the garden. I will definitely do some progress pictures once I get started with the planting :)

Hello @valth

How are you today and for me, my weekend is just beginning. Spent most of my time in my lab working on my final project.
1FA7E976-EC00-405F-AFAA-23A53D394989.JPG

Most of my works have been indoor, and fun filled and I'd be writing on them soon.
The garden of the lab is so fascinating and relaxing. Check out
IMG_8360.JPG

Hi, @olanrewaju. I'm good. How about you? What are you working on? :)

Nanontecnology - an advancement to biotechnology and microbiology.

We intend synthesising nanoparticles and applied them in various way for the benefit of mankind

Are you working on Au or Ag NPs? I've been geeking out on those a bit lately and would enjoy reading more.

Currently working on AgNPs with plans for AuNPs later.
I will be your supplier on nanotechnology soon my friend @effofex

I'm looking forward to seeing you begin to blog about it as well, @olanrewaju! It will certainly be interesting :)

I'm looking forward to seeing you begin to blog about it as well, @olanrewaju! It will certainly be interesting :)

Oh really
Don't worry 😉, I will feed you to the fullest

@olanrewaju

Wow, that sounds really interesting! It sounds like really important work you are dong.

It looks so awesome...
Taking something thing useless and and turning it into something beautiful and useful that's ingenious... No more tire discarding problem for the moment:)

Thanks, @xabi! Yeah, it feels great to be able to make something cool from what would otherwise just have been thrash.

What is Fast-Reply???

It's a nice little app that allows me to write replies a whole lot faster than with the Steemit or Busy UI ;) You can try it at http://fast-reply.surge.sh/.

Nice way to utilize old Tyre. I remember there was a time at my place when dangue fever was common and the biggest population of mosquitoes who created dangue fever lived in the old tyres which were filled with water. At that time govt banned storage of old Tyre at places open to atmosphere.
It is a far better idea to spend time in nature and do some creativity. It will not only refresh but also keep your spouse relation happy:).
Colorful tyres are looking beautiful and you know beautiful things cost you.

Thanks! I can imagine how tires filled with water would be the perfect breeding grounds for mosquitoes. It seems to be a good call from the government!

Wow! This is such an amazing idea of making flower pots from the old tires, without wasting any money. Reuse all the things that we can use it for saving environment.
Great content and nice article.

Thanks @valth for sharing.

Upvoted & resteemed your post.

Thanks, I'm glad you liked it! Thank you very much for the upvote and resteem :)

Amazing idea! I love these DIY recycling projects :) This one reminds me of chairs made from old tires I saw in Mexico:

IMG_20170507_191924.jpg

That looks really cool! It's definitely a bit more complicated than making flower beds from the though.

wow awesome idea😍 and seriously they are looking superb and beautiful
sir amazing creativity yeah it seems like not an easy tho but you did it 🤗
we have also some spare tyres and surely m gonna try this out for my garden and will show you, sir, thanks a lot 🤗...

That's great to hear. Good luck :) Just don't forget to bring a lot of paint, because it takes a lot more than you would think.

Hello friend very interesting project, qur great idea for everyone to recycle looks very nice asi, and colors. I hope to see other photos already finished.

Thanks. Yeah, it's nice to be able to recycle the tires :) I will post some new photos once the plants are ready.

If friend to see how they are already finished, the esparare. regards

Sorry, I don't completely understand what you mean :(

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61383.17
ETH 2915.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61