5 Things You Shouldn't Say to Underweight Person

in #life7 years ago (edited)

I came across @cikxaijen ‘s post about “5 things you shouldn’t say to overweight person” and thought that people have always been careful around overweight person but tend to forget that underweight person can get hurt too. Sadly, no matter your body type, you are not free from hurtful comments about your appearance.

scale-403585_1920.jpg

As a skinny person myself, I get a lot of comment about my weight and looks. There are times that I got hurt by what people say, although I am sure they didn’t mean it.


Here are some of the comments that I got regarding my weight:

divide line.png

“You don’t need to workout. You don’t even have muscles to begin with”

rock-1573068_1920.jpg

I got this from a friend. And it hurts a lot. It’s hard to even begin your fitness journey. To decide to go to a gym or a fitness class, is not easy. I’ve been there. I give a lot of excuses before I even registered as a member. I actually needed someone to push me to start working out. And to hear this when you need encouragement, is really discouraging. Skinny does not mean healthy. Just like everyone else, I want to be fit. Everyone needs to exercise.

divide line.png

“You should eat more burgers, drink lots of coke”

fries-2564658_1920.jpg

As we all know, fast food is unhealthy. And like everybody else, I am looking for the best way to gain weight. I’ve tried different type of supplements to increase my appetite. Up to the point where I am sick of it. To turn to burgers and coke is not a wise way. It will do more harm to the body.

divide line.png

“You are eating salad? Don’t even try to diet. You are already skinny”

tomatoes-646645_1920.jpg

Those who gave such comments definitely do not know what “diet” actually means. Diet does not mean one eat less or does not eat at all. Dieting means eating a well balanced diet for health.

divide line.png

“You will look better in that dress if you have more meat”

barbie-2417619_1920.jpg

It is not easy to find clothes that fits me. Its like looking for a needle in a haystack. It’s frustrating and annoying. So you are consider really lucky if you are able to find one that “almost” fits you. But to receive such comments, will only ruin your already ruined day.

divide line.png

“You’re so bony”

skeleton-2504344_1920.jpg

I spend so much time in front of the mirror, trying to look for something that I like about my body. To be reminded of how skinny I am, isnt really helping.
Getting a comment like this really ruin my self-esteem.

divide line.png

Although I do not see wrong in people expressing their opinion, I still think it is not okay to belittle people that has different body type than themselves.

Instead of comparing our bodies, we should motivate and support each other to love ourselves regardless of how we look.

Thanks for taking the time to read my post. I hope you like it and if you do, do give a thumbs up!!

P/S: All pictures are taken from pixabay.com
With Love,
Vael Riey

Sort:  

Size were never an issue for me. What i look for in a girl is a passion to take good care of her health and doing all she can to make herself better than she was yesterday.

Plus, pure weight (or lack thereof) in itself does not tell the full story of a person's health. A 55kg girl at 15% body fat ratio is much much more "sexy" to me than a 45kg girl with the typical "healthy-looking" 27% body fat ratio. And then there is cardiovascular health, pretty as a girl can look, she is useless if walking up 2 flights of stairs gets her all panting.

Then you have general health as a whole. A sickly girl (and boy) is a total putoff. it shows she doesnt take care of her health..

Dont forget emotional and mental health too! I'm not going anywhere near a psycho and someone with poor mental is detrimental to the people around them.

All in all, when it comes to girls, these are the things i look at. How much does she emphasize on her health rather than looks. All those makeup don't hide your non-existent effort to keep healthy. And regardless of curvy or petite, you don't get my attention if you never worked for that body you have!

This is all of course talking at a superficial level. Since i'm already waaaay out of the game, I'm not "in the market" so to speak. And judging a lady (and gentlemens too) based on looks is dumb and unwise to begin with. I'm much more interested in whats going on in the head, whether its deep with thoughts (great!) or shallow with "ermahgerd did you look at Sheila's picture?"(nah!)

But then again, people often judge. They think curvy means you are lazy. Skinny means you are sickly. 😪

You are right, no matter how we look someone will always criticized 😕

True! I have a friend who is always concerned about how people think she looks in pictures and in real life. I often told her that no matter how she looks, even if she looks "perfect", people will always find something to criticize.

That is why I no longer care what people think about me, be it in look or other areas of life. Their opinions on me are not my business. Life truly is too short to care about what people think.

That is true. I guess it takes time to tune other people's opinion out. We just need to keep reminding ourselves that only our opinions about ourselves matter.

Thanks for mentioning me @vaelriey.

I too quite skinny growing up.

you look like plywood

ever get that? harsh!

hahaha! I got that too.

I saw your article and thought people say hurtful things to skinny people too. Probably because they do not know its rude and hurtful, since we never really mention it. So i thought i should voice it out :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 56386.16
ETH 2529.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49