I'm going to try Polyphasic sleep, (and some other things) for a month.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life6 years ago (edited)

PolyphasicSleep.png

One of the strangest things about the human condition is the ability to recognize the right thing to do but still not do it. The right thing can mean the healthy thing to eat, it can be the act of getting out and exercising, it can be finding the time to meditate regularly, it can even be something as simple as doing the dishes after you're done cooking dinner. No matter what it is, I bet you there's at least 1 or 2 things that you haven't done this week, that you should have done.

I know for me, the number is much higher than 1 or 2..

This failure to act is particularly prevalent when it comes to regular exercise. I'm fairly sure that everyone knows that daily exercise is beneficial for the body and the mind and yet, not all of us do it. I certainly don't despite it's clear benefits.

Another example for me personally, is carving out some time every day to spend 10-15 minutes meditating. It strengthens my focus, it quells my anxiety - it calms my mind, but still I'm yet to do it every day for 2 weeks without missing at least a day or two.

It's not just daily practices that get missed though. Since taking some time off my community management job 3-4 weeks ago, I've been planning on trying a Polyphasic Sleep pattern like this one, but I still haven't started.

And sure, I make excuses, really good ones too - I was working late, I had dinner plans with my girlfriend, I was busy staring at the cryptocurrency charts etc.

But now that I've got more free time, I've been running pretty low on excuses... It's time to act.

I wonder how productive it would be if I simply did all those things that I know I should do; daily exercise, meditation, practicing gratitude, progress toward other projects, but also have enough time to enjoy my life. Well, enough wondering because from tomorrow, I'll be attempting...

Power Month - a month of doing all those things that I know are good for me while still having ample free time to enjoy in other ways. Here's how it's gonna go.

Power Month Schedule

This includes the Everyman 2 Polyphasic sleep cycle:

01:00 - 05:30 | Sleep.
05:30 - 06:00 | Coffee then Exercise (run/bike ride/or weights).
06:00 - 06:15 | Shower
06:15 - 06:30 | Meditate.
06:30 - 07:00 | Gratitude & planning session.

07:00 - 09:00 | Free time. (including 2x hard-boiled eggs)
09:00 - 11:00 | Work time, (incl. video/blogs/moderating/Crypto charts).
11:00 - 11:30 | 20 min nap.
11:30 - 12:00 | Breakfast salad, (incl. supplements).

12:00 - 19:00 | Free time. (incl. healthy snacks)
19:00 - 19:30 | 20 min nap.
19:30 - 20:30 | Free time. (incl. dinner)

20:30 - 22:00 | Free time.
22:00 - 12:30 | Work time, (incl. video/blogs/moderating/Crypto charts).
00:30 - 01:00 | Reading

My goal is pretty simple, force consistency and build habits around the things that I'd like to do to improve my life. Attack the default laziness that arises during time off and be held accountable by writing about it on here.

Here's a video:

Please follow if you'd like to hear about how I go.

Sort:  

This post has received a 6.33% upvote from @aksdwi thanks to: @vaderiffic.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64781.14
ETH 3119.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53