WHEN NO ONE SEES

in #life6 years ago
 A poem by my dear friend on Instagram inspired this. 

And just as I responded in his comment box, "We are getting so pretentious these days 'True color' is seeming like a distant memory but one way or the other it'd emerge. Good will prevail"

IMAGE SOURCE


You know, you can only pretend for so long, default settings will always spring up at some unguarded moment and point. Lately, I've been thinking about how social media has had a lot of positive impact at the same time causing harm to a lot of people. While doing some soul searching, I began to wonder if people were as good ad half the image they portrayed to others, virtually and physically. What is the motive behind our posts? So that people can see that we're living the good life? To make our rivals jealous. And then we see all sorts of statements like, "they said I wouldn't make it". And am thinking, "Who said?" We post pictures upon pictures filled with smiles so endearing but do we really smile that way in real life without the camera shutters and flash or someone calling out, "say cheese!".

I run a motivational quotes series on Instagram and some of my friends online whom I've never met before chat me up saying "I can't wait to see you. You are so nice!" In some of those moments, I stop and think, am I really the kind of person I portray to be on social media? Am I really welcoming and nice as my comments seem online? Would that person leave fully convinced after we've met that there are actually good people in real life. All these make me strive to better and also curtail the way I act on social media. 

What about integrity? Are you still faithful even when no one can see? Do you resist that voice that tells you, "take it, no one can see you, no one will know"? 

Your behavior when no one sees is your true image. 

Enough of the chameleon life, be real, be you, be good.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58559.96
ETH 3156.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44