I don't know how it could be more plainly stated

in #life4 years ago


bible-276067_640.jpg

They will be divided, father against son and son against father, mother against daughter and daughter against mother, mother-in-law against daughter-in-law and daughter-in-law against mother-in-law.”
Luke 12:53 NASB1995

I think that I have spoken to this before. I'm not sure.

Gammy related a story to me this morning of a teen aged boy who had turned in his father for going to DC on 6 January, 2021. Actually he called the FBI before said date. A link to various stories here.

The boy also alleges the man threatened violence against him if he told.

I know neither the man nor the boy so I cannot speak to the veracity of the claims. I have seen how the media operates by spewing information without doing any investigation.

All media picks it up and runs with it. Here's an example:

There was another story a couple of weeks back about a woman who turned in her mother for going to DC. That incident did turn violent. Links here.

Jesus, as well the writers of the New Testament, said that love would grow cold and that families would fall apart. Things would worsen as time progressed.

I think that if people were honest they would acknowledge this. They are not. They will not.

Government and social programs are the way to enlightenment and nirvana they say.

If that were true, shouldn't we be progressing rather than regressing?

How long had it been since Sir Thomas Moore wrote Utopia?

The problem is not one man or one group. The problem is all of us. We are all twisted and vile.

  • We all hate.
  • We are all racists. (I won't even qualify that with "to some degree". If we are guilty in the least, we are completely guilty. )
  • We are all thieves.
  • We are all liars. (We lie to ourselves most of all. We try to justify our actions by making comparisons to those who are "worse.")

How do we overcome this evil in our lives?

We give ourselves over to the healing power of Jesus Christ. Admit that we are wrong. Accept his forgiveness. Read the book of John in several versions just so we pick up on his thoughts then read the rest of the New Testament. Spend time in prayer and contemplation.

Will our lives and thoughts be instantly changed?

In some things, maybe. Over time, definitely.

As we spend time reading and praying, our attitudes and habits change. It is as if we have been born anew.

If you think this is untrue, perform a simple experiment. Say a simple prayer, "Jesus, if you are who you say, show me."

If you are honest in that, he will.

Full text of the passage at top:

“I have come to cast fire upon the earth; and how I wish it were already kindled! But I have a baptism to undergo, and how distressed I am until it is accomplished! Do you suppose that I came to grant peace on earth? I tell you, no, but rather division; for from now on five members in one household will be divided, three against two and two against three. They will be divided, father against son and son against father, mother against daughter and daughter against mother, mother-in-law against daughter-in-law and daughter-in-law against mother-in-law.”
Luke 12:49‭-‬53 NASB1995

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63248.94
ETH 2576.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85