Things to Tell Yourself When You are Feeling Down

in #life6 years ago (edited)

gothic-2910057_1280.jpgimage
I’m a giant believer in the power of positive thinking and a grateful attitude. But, even so, I’ll admit that I feel discouraged on nearly a day after day.

Whether it’s the actual fact that I can’t appear to get the words to flow for a piece of writing I’m working on, I’ve been ghosted by a potential client i was excited regarding working with, or the overall in my checking account was a little (OK, a lot) lower than I had anticipated, I experience lots of those moments that get beneath my skin, make me grit my teeth, and force me to heave an cheesed off sigh.

Yes, unfortunately those instances appear pretty ofttimes. So, I’ve learned that I merely can’t dwell on them and destroy both my mood and motivation. Instead, i want to choose myself up, take a deep breath, and go.

How do I manage to do that—when all i really wish to do is cry, tear my hair out, or take a nap (or all of the above)? Well, I remind myself of those things:

I’m a giant believer within the power of positive thinking and a grateful angle. But, even so, I’ll admit that I feel discouraged on virtually a usual.

Whether it’s the very fact that I can’t appear to urge the words to flow for a writing I’m performing on, I’ve been ghosted by a possible consumer i used to be excited regarding operating with, or the entire in my checking account was slightly (OK, a lot) not up to I had anticipated, I expertise many those moments that get beneath my skin, build Pine Tree State grit my teeth, associated force Pine Tree State to heave an browned off sigh.

Yes, sadly those instances appear pretty oftentimes. So, I’ve learned that I merely can’t hesitate them and destroy each my mood and motivation. Instead, i want to select myself up, take a deep breath, and locomote.

How do I manage to try to to that—when all i actually need to try to to is cry, tear my hair out, or take a nap (or all of the above)? Well, I inform myself of those four things.

1. It’s Not just You:
Spoiler alert: virtually everyone feels pessimistic at one purpose or another. Yes, even those those that continuously appear so absolutely polished and positively chipper have their moments of pure and utter frustration.

So, while I don’t essentially subscribe to the entire schadenfreude principle, i feel it’s okay to take a minimum of a little little bit of comfort within the fact that you’re not the only one to ever need to put your head down on your table and weep. Feeling dismayed may be an isolating feeling now and then, thus it may be useful to grasp that you just aren’t wholly alone in your stress and disappointment.

2. It could always Be Worse:
Honestly, i'm going back and forth between whether or not this sentiment is particularly uplifting or improbably dispiriting. But, there areasure} positively times once this simple phrase helps to pull me through those moments of sheer exasperation.

While I tend not to like to zone in on negatives (like the fact that my computer may crash or my house may catch on fire), reminding myself that my situation might always be worse is a good way on behalf of me to channel additional of my focus into the things I ought to truly be grateful for and happy concerning. Plus, it drives home the point that things very aren’t therefore bad right now.

3. This Too Shall Pass:
Nothing is forever. So, even though it would feel like this period of discouragement will continue on for the rest of eternity, I assure you it won’t.

When you’re feeling discouraged and down within the dumps, it’s vital to remind yourself that this is simply another passing amount of time. Life is basically just a series of highs and lows. And, even better? Those not-so-great moments are those that create your wins and successes appear even sweeter!

4. It’s a perfectly normal emotion:
Admittedly, there are times when I feel a bit guilty regarding the fact that I’m shocked or depressed. I’ve fallen into the trap of thinking that I continuously ought to feel positive and grateful that giving into those down moments means that I’m thankless of the numerous great aspects of my life.

Believe me, those unstable feelings of good and bad doesn’t cause you to dramatic or whiney, it causes you to human. So, yes, you have my permission to feel crestfallen every once and a moment. simply don’t let that feeling hijack your entire life.

We all have times when we feel plain ol’ discouraged. Trust me, it’s a totally typical and even rational reaction. But, the secret is to get through those moments of dismay and march on together with your day. Keep all of these in mind, and you’re certain to rebound in no time!

What do you tell yourself once you’re feeling frustrated? Let me know with your comments

THANKS FOR READING

I am @updanny

Sort:  

People these days are living in their own bubbles. After their friends posts nice social media photos they are starting to feel sorry for themselfs

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62832.46
ETH 3374.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48