Why I did not retire at 25steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life6 years ago

Hey Steemians,

Through hard work, intellectual choices and a hint of luck. I managed to get to the stage where I could retire at 25 if I wanted to. I will get more into how I managed to achieve this at a later time. For now I will focus on why I chose to not retire.

Through life I have always questioned everything and I want all Steemians reading this to do the same. If you simply conform to the world around you. It will determine your future, it will determine your worth. Instead aim to have the world conform to your life.

To me the normal way of life reads something like this
Go To School to get an Education
Go to Collage to get a Degree
Get a Job to get a Salary
Get a Promotion to Increase your Salary
Get a Retirement Plan so that you no longer need to work.

At least this is the feeling I received while assessing other people's opinions. This is also in agreement with what I learned in school and from my parents.

When looking at the normal way of life, retirement seems to be the goal. And I believe this will kill a person. Many people want to earn enough money to quit their job and do their own thing. In this sense retirement could be the worst choice for anyone to make.

The dictionary definition of retirement reads as follows:
the action or fact of leaving one's job and ceasing to work.

To many retirement is a destination. Once you retire you feel you have made it, you feel that you are done. You stop growing and developing yourself, your mind and body starts going backwards because you no longer invest into it.

Now I am young and to a certain extent I am naive. I know that with age comes certain other problems that makes life harder as time passes. I have no experience with this. I have nothing against people retiring at the age of 80. But I believe that the goal of retirement with a focus on comfort is wrong.

Financial Freedom is a great goal and something everyone should strive for. Passive income changes life. But be careful with any goal of retirement.

I did not retire at the age of 25 because a wise man once told me that you stop living the day you stop moving. That is why I will not retire willingly. That is why at the age of 26, When I no longer need to work, I am taking on bigger and better things. I am working even harder than I did back when life was hard. I am pushing myself even further.

i-will-die-but-not-retire.jpg

Sort:  

True. When you retire, you stop growing and become weak.
Just keep moving @upclass 😊
Upvoted.
Please check on my posts too.

Hey Ameriza, Thank you.

I have followed you and will surely take a look at your posts.

I will not rush through them but will be sure to check them out if they catch my attention.

Thank you.
Followed you back.

I do apologize, I read something on another post and was wondering if this works.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61191.20
ETH 2972.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48