Where do you buy used books?

in #life7 years ago

I have been so excited about used books the last few months of being back in the States!


source


There are so many ways to receive used books. Used book stores, thrift stores, online, etc!


source


I have gotten the most books at Goodwill lately, but the only thing with that is that it is random and you have no way of knowing what they will have. 


source


Used book stores are the bomb, but sometimes they are a little pricey. My favorite used book stores that I have been to are the ones that you can trade books for credit and that have books that are lower than just half the cover price. 


source


Of course you can find almost any book on eBay, but sometimes it's hard to find them at a good price. I have found great books, but a lot of them charge a silly amount for shipping. As long as you are willing to shop for the best value, you can find what you are looking for. 


source


I just came across this new website for thrift books. They have tons of books and they offer free shipping over $10 and they consistently have coupons! 


source


Amazon offers used books, but most of the time used books require $4 just for shipping, so I haven't gotten a whole bunch of used books from them. Of course, they have just about every new book ever if you want to buy new!


I enjoy used books so much! It is so cool to read a book that has a history and that is being recycled. It's also way too much fun to search for used books and find what you are looking for! I have found several childrens' books that I used to have when I was little and it has excited me so much to have those to read to my little dude and eventually to his little sister!


What about you? Do you like used books as much as me? 


Where do you like to find used books?


Blessings!



Sort:  

Shame you're not in the UK - I've got a pile of used books to declutter!

That is a shame! I hope you find a happy home for them. 😊

Nice list. Also check out this website where you can find a platform to sell or buy used books. Also, I found cheap options for college textbooks there. This is a very good solution to avoid spending too much money.

Goodwill is definitely one that I've tried, but I'm looking forward to checking out the ones in this area. (Maybe someone really nice will go with me (😉😉😉😉hint hint)

That will be so much fun! :D

Personally, I like going to Half Price Books. They have an incredible selection and a lot of (DFW) locations. Unfortunately, I think they are a local chain here in Texas only. There's another amazing used bookstore in Denton, TX called Recycled Books. I spent many hours there in my youth!

Of course, eBay and Amazon always have "pre-loved" books worth buying if there are no good local stores.

Great post! I love your questions for us.

So awesome to have local book stores to go to! :D

I share your passion! I think the coolest decor in a room is a bookcase filled with hard backed booked, with some plants around it! LOL I don't always read every book but I like knowing I have them for reference. Maybe I'm addicted to "collecting" used books vs reading all of them. I love this post! Upvoted and Resteemed!

That's funny! But I get it! Books are way more fun to use to decorate than a china cabinet full of glass. Lol!

I am in India.The best way of me is street side vendors.Its slightly better than Goodwill since they are selling as a business.So you can get almost every popular or bestsellers.If not then the best way to buy for me is via Amazon. If you are in one of the metro cities, you have different other online options, but have not heard anything better than Amazon.

Yes, Amazon is great with their book selection. It's great you have access to them!

A woman after my own heart @uglysweater ! I love books! I keep trying to switch to e-books because they are so convenient, but it is just not the same!

It really isn't the same! You can't turn the pages and smell the books!

I love books too. Traveling, however, has made me a Kindle user. Miss the smell and feel of them. Luckily we kept all our books.. they are safely tucked away in boxes at my parent's place.

Using Kindle while traveling is super awesome. It's a bummer you can't turn to pages and hold the books, but at least you can access almost any book you want online!

True that! Miss my books though! Have a lovely weekend ;)

Love used bookstores. I go to thrift stores too (called op shops in Australia). Abebooks.com is my go to site for rare books.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 56556.00
ETH 2492.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.22