One thing at a time.

in #life7 years ago

source


I'm all for multitasking if that gets the job done, especially if that works for you, but most of the time taking things one task at a time will actually be more beneficial and productive for you.  


Multi-tasking is great in the kitchen when you are trying to time the chicken to be ready at the same time as the potatoes. But do not assume it is a great way to manage a workday. 
-Joanne Tombrakos, writer 


I think that I actually accomplish less when I multitask. In the moment it feels like I am getting a lot done, but when I look back at how long it actually took me to complete each task, I realize that it probably would have taken me less time to just complete one task at a time. 


When we think we’re multitasking we’re actually multiswitching. That is what the brain is very good at doing – quickly diverting its attention from one place to the next. We think we’re being productive. We are, indeed, being busy. But in reality we’re simply giving ourselves extra work.
 -Michael Harris, writer  


I feel pretty scatterbrained when I am shifting from one thing to another and not completing things as I go. I realize as I'm doing it that I am actually doing more work, and it's causing me to feel more overwhelmed than if I just literally stopped and completed one thing at a time.


source


I think multitasking, for me, is often the inability to concentrate and see one task through. So, instead of finishing something I am struggling with and getting it done, I lose patience and interest and jump to the next thing, labeling it "multitasking."


source


The Russian Proverb of chasing two rabbits and catching neither one is really quite true as a metaphor for multitasking. If you chase one rabbit at a time, you may catch one or both, but if you chase them at the same time, you will catch neither. 


To do two things at once is to do neither.


-Publilius Syrus.


source


Even as I was typing this post, I was struggling to stay focused on it and get it done, and not jump to something else in the middle of it. But instead I am focusing to get this done, then I will move on to the next thing. I am really going to try and focus on one task at a time. That's a much less-overwhelming way for me to view the world -- one thing at a time, one step at a time.


What about you, do you like to do one thing at a time or multitask?


Blessings!



Sort:  

I'm definitely a one-thing-at-a-time person --can't bite off more than I can chew. That's why cooking isn't my thing. Great post. Following and voting.

Thanks! Yes, it is definitely hard to cook without multitasking. 😊

I'm used to muti-tasking, but maybe a little more focus is needed. I like to have to-do lists and organise my workload.

To-do lists are a great way to stay organized! I think that multitasking is great, but only if it is actually helpful and productive. :)

Sometimes I have to multi task, but as I get older I notice that it takes more time to switch gears between tasks and I get less done. I really prefer to do one task at a time...

Yes, usually one step at a time is the way to go!

@uglysweater, to answer your question, "What about you, do you like to do one thing at a time or multitask?"

it usually depends on the situation. I could do one thing - such as I'm doing now and replying to great posts on SteemIt or I could be (as my dad calls me) A F*%#--- tornado and blow out several projects fast.

But if I have to focus...

One thing at a time! :0)

Thanks.

If you can get a whole bunch done at the same time, good for you! But, yes, focus is important. 😄

Some things require our focus and for others we can multitask, cooking being one of them as you mentioned. However, it's really important that we do everything with a full heart in order to be good at it.

I love this! I suck with staying focused on one thing. I should put more effort in it.

It is definitely hard to put into practice if you're used to doing a whole bunch of things at once. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58192.51
ETH 2295.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50