Love is Not Selfish

in #life6 years ago

source


I have a confession . . . As soon as I started working on this post, I said something selfish. I don't want to be selfish because love is selfless! But it is definitely among the hardest things for me not to be! I hate that about myself and I want to fix it!


_________________________________________________________________


From Oxford Dictionaries: 

Selfish:

  1. (of a person, action, or motive) lacking consideration for others; concerned chiefly with one's own personal profit or pleasure: "I joined them for selfish reasons"synonyms: egocentric · egotistic · egotistical · egomaniacal · self-centered · self absorbed · self-obsessed · self-seeking · self-serving · wrapped up in oneself · inconsiderate · thoughtless 


_________________________________________________________________


I definitely battle selfishness on a daily basis. It's very human and I know I can be better! I want love to be my focal point, not myself!


Because love is not selfish.


_________________________________________________________________


From Merriam Webster:

Selfish:

1 . concerned excessively or exclusively with oneself : seeking or concentrating on one's own advantage, pleasure, or well-being without regard for others            

2. arising from concern with one's own welfare or advantage in disregard of others     


_________________________________________________________________


source


_________________________________________________________________


"Every man must decide whether he will walk in the light of creative altruism or in the darkness of destructive selfishness." Martin Luther King, Jr.


_________________________________________________________________


"Selfishness is the greatest curse of the human race." William E. Gladstone


_________________________________________________________________


I don't want to be selfish!


I want to be selfless and full of love!





Sort:  

Ok, so can I respectfully disagree? Just a little bit? Hear me out :)

I don't think you should be selfless, it indicates a lack of self-care and we all need to care about ourselves.

I believe in a thing called sacred-selfishness which means taking care of yourself, not buying yourself expensive things and denying others' help, but in caring for the inner you, your thoughts, emotions and being.

It's about hitting the pause button and recharging and caring for you. It doesn't happen to the exclusion of all else, and it doesn't mean you don't care for others. It just means you are recharging you and making sure you're ok so that you can the be ok for others.

Does that make any sense?

I want to be selfless and full of love!

This is great however you will be better at it if you care for yourself too.

I believe in not being selfish though. ;)

Oh, I totally agree with you. We are saying the same thing. Self care is super, duper important. I mean, on a plane you put on your mask first before you can help others. You can't help anyone if you're dead. 😂

P.S. I think the English language needs more precise words. I believe in self care and selflessness. But I don't think that the word "selfless" should imply you don't take care of your own needs, you know? In fact, I think it's selfish to NOT take care of yourself. Haha!

Great analogy. Ps. Do you really have an ugly sweater?

I have lots of ugly sweaters! :D

Here are some: http://bit.ly/2t525CE

Oh, yeah there are some fine example’s right there. :)

It's really easy to look at people who have more than us and say they should give some away, but it's really hard (sometimes) to look at someone with less and say, "I should give some away."

It's something that we all can improve on.

Exactly! It should be so easy to avoid selfishness, and yet it clings like a disease.

Love is not selfish, yes true. But somehow, i believe that it should go for both the parties. If one is sacrificing selflessly and other one is taking this love for granted then its not true love. I think loving yourself is as important in true love as anything else.

Well said! :D

I would love to always be selfless not selfish. Great post

Thank you! Xoxo!

Love myself I do. Not everything, but I love the good as well as the bad. I love my crazy lifestyle, and I love my hard discipline. I love my freedom of speech and the way my eyes get dark when I'm tired. I love that I have learned to trust people with my heart, even if it will get broken.

Thanks for quoting Johnny Weir!

There should be a name for cut and pasters...Oh there is...Plagiarisers.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60345.08
ETH 2986.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81