I believe in the sun, even when it's not shining!

in #life7 years ago

source


When I was a teenager, someone told me about this poem written by a Jewish prisoner in a Nazi concentration camp during the Holocaust. BarlowGirl based one of their songs on the poem and you can read the lyrics here

It has always stayed with me because I thought it was so powerful. I, of course, cannot even imagine being in a concentration camp, but the fact that someone who was could find the strength to have hope is such an encouraging perspective!


source


The sun may not be shining, but I know it is there. 

I will always believe in love, no matter what I am feeling. 

Love is the answer, it is the whole point. 


source


Blessings!



Sort:  

That last line is very interesting and rings true for me.

"I believe in God even when he is silent."

Maybe the silence IS God?
Maybe our thoughts and internal dialogue are just distorting and covering up that silence?

I find it very interesting that most people immediately start feeling uncomfortable in a very silent environment; they immediately start doing something to break the silence; turn on the radio, turn on the tv, open up the phone.

This is really deep!
You're right, though, people get nervous in the silence.

A lovely sentiment, as true today as when it was written.

Nice lines! I like the poetry so much it contains deep meaning and good feeling.

It is very meaningful!

A lovely post my sweet @uglysweater 🌞🌞🌞

Thank you, lovely!

Thanks for posting this. I kinda needed it.

Hope it helped!

Deep thoughts, that is the way how life need to be living.

This post has received a 42.70 % upvote from @lovejuice thanks to: @noboxes. They have officially sprayed their dank amps all over your post rewards. GOOD TIMES! Vote for Aggroed!

What a powerful poem. It gives hope. I love that. Thank you!

Glad you liked it! :D

I'm sure this really helped motivate someone out there who needed it. Thanks for the motivational post; perfect love casts out all fear

Nice lines! I like

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58470.49
ETH 2617.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39