Will the future of Artificial Intelligent (AI) be the biggest existential threat to humankind?

in #life7 years ago

If you had asked me ten years back, my answer would have been "no."  But, now I admit the gruesomeness of this statement. 

Humanity had evolved over centuries. We had struggled for survival and conquered for our quest of existence. And, we succeeded thus far. We educated ourselves on how to co-exists with another species and molded into a super intellect species on the face of Earth. 

With human evolution, we have invented unique technology. From printing newspaper to digital news, telegram to telephone and now cellphone. We have grown from mail to email and now instant chat. Our existence in social media dominates our behavior and creates our identity. 

We have grown to embrace Virtual Reality (VR), Augmented Reality (AR), Machine Learnings and Robotics - All these seemed feasible due to the enormous elevation of Artificial Intelligence. 

So, What's wrong?

Have you seen the movie "I, Robot" featuring  Will Smith? If not, check out the trailer.

The plot takes place in Chicago in the year 2035, where Robot not only capable of taking on human but also the capacity to dream, to love and to suffer. Will Smith, played the role of a homicide detective to investigate the murder of a human by a robot. How the story evolves, you should check out by yourselves (if you haven't watched the movie yet).

What's my point?

With the recent development of AI, we are on a verge to a bright future. Innovator and entrepreneur, like Elon Musk, had outspoken about the pertinent danger of AI. 

"With artificial intelligent, we are summoning the demon," Must said. He had lectured about his human-cloud concept, "Neural lace" many time. Check this out.

I agree with Musk that A.I. advances act many benefits, yet severe perils to humanity. His idea of Neural lace would create, in effect, a computer interface woven into the brain; devising a symbiosis with machines, allowing the user to access, for example, the Internet just by thinking. How cool is that?

Future that worries me

It's quite inevitable that AI will be smarter than us, at one point in time, at least with the speed we are advancing in technology. 

And, we need AI. But,

If Musk's vision of the future of human holds true, what happens when one of us get hacked? (Like what happened in "I, Robot"). We will live in Cyber world, and we can hack anything.

Being a human, will I malfunction? Will I act against my will? Or will I be a treat to humanity? 

I don't know but eager to hear from you. What do you think?

Sort:  

Fascinating post.

I'm of two minds on this one.

  1. The level of AI today (Watson, Big Blue etc) cannot reason, it cannot feel. All actions and decisions are based on a logical decision tree that has to be structured. Watson is probably the closest we have to something that can make decisions, but it lacks a fundamental ability required, the ability to articulate the "Why" it made a decision. It can scan millions of records and say it's decision is likely the correct answer with a 77% certainty rating, but it cannot ultimately give you an understandable why.

  2. Your theme appears to be the worry of being hacked, of being guided "against your will". I fully believe that in today's society we are being hacked daily. The hacking is through Social Media, Television, Radio and Billboards. Buying Product A, vs Product B. Eating foods we KNOW to be unhealthy. Smoking. Drinking. All of these things are societal hacks that influence us to do things that are not in our best interest.

Will there come a point where someone can hack directly into our neural network to imprint information directly into our senses? Yes - without a doubt that will occur in the next 50 years. Will it be that much of a change from how we are daily "hacked" through the influence on our decisions?

I don't think it will.

I like your view. One thing we both agreed- we are being watched and hacked everyday. The question is how far are we going to see to it.

Great post for AI!!

Thank you!

I believe that the only way humans will survive and evolve is to merge with the machine.

That also brings the imminent potential of being hacked and the danger we may face in future

They are already talking about trying to transfer our souls, so to speak, into a computer so that we can live forever...it's crazy. Interesting none the less but crazy.

And who gets control of the on/off switch? A robotic body connected to the cloud, I can't think of anything worse. I'll take my chances with nature, whatever's left of it.

Good post uday625. Now following you

Thank you @sheeshkababage. Followed back.

Good read. Up voted.
However people may advance the with technology to replace human beings with robot to boast their power of creation, people will always crave for the human touch which they can never replace by imagination until and unless they create some thing that can wipe out human emotions and turn themselves into robots.

Can't think of anything else right now other than this song.Give it a listen.

Nice post but if I understand the actual development of ai there isn't something real artificial intelligent system out there. Maybe many are named after that but in the end these algorithms only have some more if-else statements than usual.

In my opinion something is intelligent if I can put a problem in front of it and it will solve it. After that I'll put a complete another problem in front of it and it will solve it to.

I don't see this in actually ai. Maybe it's way better than humans in tasks it was programmed(and here's the point) for but that's then the only thing this software/algorithm could do. Maybe google's AlphaGo ai can beat a human in the go game but it cant bring me cola from my fridge if I ask it because it even lack the capability to understand me nor learn my language if it doesn't get programmed this way.
Take a human baby/child, it will learn my language just from observing me. Maybe it'll take a long time if I don't teach it but nevertheless it will learn it. AI in these days wont and it will take a long journey till its capable of things like this.

For sure, it will take a long journey. I like your insight though.

Humanity has 2 paths to choose from: The AI Transhumanism path or the spiritual path aligned with Gaia (thats the name of planet earth's spirit). One will lead to destruction. if you had neural lace and could tap into google by twitching your eyes, EVERYone would be twitching their eyes all day lol. AI and transhumanism is VERY VERY dangerous and in my opinion the greatest threat to humanity besides nuclear war. i think i will make a post about this soon :)

Nice thought. Sure, I would love to hear on this topic from you. Its always intrigues me. @web-gnar

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61861.45
ETH 2995.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48