SP AK UP; DON'T DIE IN SILENCE

in #life7 years ago

image.jpeg

So yesterday, a friend of mine told me of a friend of hers who happens to live a few blocks from my place. Suspecting he was approaching the second stage of depression, she asked I checked up on him for precaution sake.

So on my way home, I began to brainstorm and analyze how this whole depression stuff plays out. Subtle and gradual in nature, it eats into the very soul without mercy. So from initial frustration, to total rejection and then social isolation, we gradually trace the suicide path, making it easier to execute the play, without mistakingly hinting anyone, hence the final step being social isolation.

I stopped by his place the other night but he was out. Being the observant bloke dat I am, the room was too organized for a Friday night, not to mention the fact that being meticulous isn't one of his perks. Well arranged closet, folded t-shirts on a flawlessly dressed bed, this was unprecedented. And for someone I have known for a while now, I could guess the occasion. He was either having a girl over (Which was highly doubtful) or tomorrow would be the end of the world.

I sat on a stool by the television set, listening to the faint rhythm of classical music playing next door, I could swear it was Beethoven. This is where I miss my kid bro, he has an ear for classical and I could hear him say "dude open your ears! that's yanni".

I scanned the room like I was looking for something specific and them it hit me, a book lay open on the reading table, my eyes locked on it like I had just found a clue. I strolled gently towards the table, gloves in hand, feeling like a detective Hank. Behind the book stood a title that would confirm my suspicion "What is life worth after all".

We all have our share of depression here and there, when things don't go as planned, or having invested so much into something, last minute it goes south, or you propose to the girl of your dreams in public and you get a negative.

We are all humans and no one happens to have any super powers, like see into the future, read minds or stuff like that, that's a Dr.Xavier thing. But life can be very tough when you try to live it all by yourself and the best time to be around people is when you feel like isolation is the best choice for the situation.

I never got to find out what happened to the guy a few blocks away and I can't stop trying to fill in the blank spaces.

So speak up and don't die in silence.
Tzarchisom...

Sort:  

Congratulations @tzarchisom! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 54506.20
ETH 2881.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.03