Gone but Not Forgotten

in #life7 years ago (edited)

I've rarely spoken of the loss of my wife and I's late daughter, 🌹Juniper Rose Peterson 🌹 or June for short, so here's to hoping writing will form a collective thought of why this has been the hardest time of my life.

Time heals all wounds

The phrase still sends shooting pangs through my body.
Grief is a hard emotion to handle. Not just for myself but for everyone. A year ago my wife and I had made a choice to start a family. We chose to get pregnant. I talked to June, sang to her, the two of us were so in love with her before she even came to being. Before we held her for the first time an infinite love beating through us for her and for one another.

image

The word joy would fall light-years of what we felt.
All until a day short of my birthday, June 1st. Only a week before our due date her heartbeat had stopped.

The phonecall came from my wife while I was at work. And all in seconds I understood grief. Crippling, debilitating grief. Grief that makes time stop and turns your heart into an empty pit swallowing every bit of love and happiness you'd come to know. The next days were not tough. They were impossible. My birthday came with tears and no happiness. As we planned inducing my wife the same day. Pain sending shockwaves through our combined families. And it was so hard listening to people try to comfort us because what words are there? It won't be okay. She won't get better. I can say I am incredibly thankful for who we had to love and support us through the times. It goes without saying without them I don't know if we could have made it.

image

Now it's June 3rd. Our daughter was born. Not alive, but loved eternally. And not a day goes by I don't think of coming home from work to hold her fragile hands and kiss her goodnight. A mother's grief is incomprable. So for the next few months we heard the nurses say Be there for your wife, this will be very hard for her or the mortitian saying this will be much harder for her than it will be for you our families guiding me telling me Tyler you have to help her through this. It was any man's youth once again. I shut my emotions down and I was there. I still am. And I do my best to keep her on her feet and happy. "Stop crying and man up" they would say to me as a kid. A father's grief exists. And every day even 6 months later I struggle to breathe walking into a home that I don't hear a child cry. I do my best to eat and my best to laugh but it's going to take a lot of time to push through. A silent suffering for the strength of my wife is what this has been. But we are taking time. Time to be with each other and time to grow. We one day know the family we wanted will come to fruition. I suppose that will be after Time heals all wounds.

I love and think of you always.
image

Sort:  


This post has caught the eye of @MuxxyBot and has been nominated by the curation team. If chosen it will feature in a curation post by @MuxxyBot. An image from your post may be featured.

Please reply to this comment if you accept or decline.

Congratulations @tythetraveler! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received
Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations. This post is featured in today's Muxxybot Curation post.

https://steemit.com/curation/@muxxybot/muxxybot-curation-46

Wow....this thing had me in tears dude.
It kills me when someone with as beautiful as soul as yours has to go through such an insanely painful experience in life. There really is nothing anyone can say to make any of it better, and sometimes the people who reach out and say what they think is the right thing to say, only end up upsetting more. Thank you for sharing this heartbreaking story with us all. I hope that more people see your story because I know it takes a lot of courage to post something so personal and so painful like this online. You definitely just got my full 100% upvote and resteem.

I really appreciate it. It's been hard but everything a day at a time. ❤️

Congratulations @tythetraveler! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Man, this is crushing, no much to add, wish you all the best bro

Dont know what to say. Sad thing. All is well

Hugs mate

Unspeakably sad for your loss.

❤️

Thanks for your good posts, I followed you! +vote

Congratulations @tythetraveler! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 63889.31
ETH 2757.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66