Why Do You Do What You Do?

in #life7 years ago (edited)

What's Your Why?

I met my mentor through a network marketing company. He spent weeks at my house teachin me exactly how To become anything I wanted to be. 

He was someone I really looked up to (and still do).. You see this guy made millions in multiple industries, he had been blessed enough to travel the world and see all the places I had dreamed of seeing (Paris, the Great Wall of china.. ) 

The first thing he asked me was "Zach, why are you doing network marketing" 

ofcourse I answered "to make millions like you!"

he responded "nope, wrong answer! If you are here to just make money! You WILL lose the minute any objection or blockade comes your way! You need a bigger why!!"


HOW BIG IS YOUR WHY?

He countiued to ask the question that would take me from "I want the money!" to "I want to be able to look my family in the face and say I did everything I could to change the Lives of generations to come! I want to travel the world and experience all that God has made!! I want to live life and know at the end of my life I can say 'I had an amazing life' "

now the questions he asked I will ask you! Whether it is steemit, your job, or your career path! Why are you doing it?

When you think you have the answer (for example mine was "to make the money") the next question he asked was "why Do you want to make the money?" I went in about how I wanted to travel the world and buy my family nice things... he asked again "why?" I said I had never been able to give my family what I believed they deserved.. he then asked what do they deserve? I started to tear up and said "they derserve everything.. I want to  be able to look them in the eyes and tell them I did everything I could to give our family  better life!! I want to be able to say I lived a fulfilled life and left something for generations to come!"


he stopped me in my tracks, leaned over gave me a hug and said "Now that is why!!!"


SO WHAT IS YOUR WHY?

With anything you do in life ask yourself why are ou doing it. If it can't knock you on your knees and atleast bring a spark to your eye.. a burning feeling inside you..you need to find something else. If it is just to pay the bill... I dare you to aim higher!! i truly believe that your "why" should be so big that if anyone told you "your on the wrong path" you can literally laugh in their face and say "nope I am on my path.. and here is why.." 

So I dare you to dream big, so big that it scares you. And then come up with a "why" that will move mountains. You may get the money in the end, you may not! But like my mentor said all those years ago!! "If you are doing his for the just the money you will lose EVERYTIME!"

Sort:  

Amen to that!! Always gotta know your why!

This post has received a 0.45 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68227.33
ETH 2646.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70