You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I see homeless people...

in #life7 years ago (edited)

I am not saying there are two types of homeless people, but there are still those that appear homeless, and those that do not. The obviously homeless are the ones you see sleeping on the street, the not so obviously homeless find other places and attempt to affect a cleanly appearance, couch surfing, sleeping in parks and cars, and staying in shelters usually hides them from public view. My brother, for example; spent a time intentionally homeless. He ended up working as a ridgerunner on the Appalachian Trail and sleeping in shelters. We also often have people sleeping on our couch who would otherwise be homeless.

All too often the homeless found on the street have serious mental disorders; when I worked in a hospital unit comprised primarily of Dementia and Alzheimers patients, quite a few were found on the street or wandering into the hospital; often left by relatives. It is easier on the mind to just assume they are all addicted to drugs, criminals or alcoholics or somehow deserve their lot; but often they are just abandoned by family and friends who cannot see that their change in behavior is a sign of a mental problem. Drug and alcohol addiction often occur alongside mental issues as well, but even that should be treated as a medical condition in my mind. I let a veteran stay at my home who was kicked out of a shelter for starting a fight. He had taken too drinking because it was the only thing that helped his pain and that affected his behavior and his slow disintegration. I learned from him how the homeless in the area saved money during the day to buy coffee at Dunkin Donuts at night to wait out the winter cold. He only stayed a few nights because accepting help hurt his pride. I met him a few times after that; the last time he yelled at me like he did not recognize me. If I knew then what I know now I might have called someone to help him. There comes a point where one can not think for themselves; and he was close.

Sorry; homelessness haunts me since moving to LA. At least people can survive on the streets here; but so many need mental help. On the one hand it seems like neglect on a massive scale; but on the other the homeless move to California specifically because they know they can survive here. California also pays more money to the government than it gets back; alongside dealing with the influx of homeless from other areas. Not that it isn't a rich State and that absolves it; but it is a conundrum.

Sort:  

There is a huge reason for many people being on the streets absolutely and it's not always because they have nowhere else to go. A well known guy who acted like a tramp in one area down from where I used to live had the biggest house in the area! Another man I saw who obviously did have a mental condition and who used to just walk from one end of the shopping centre to the other end and back and forth all day long, never hurt anyone but one time pulled out a fist full of cash. A university lecturer ended up on the streets in my town too, he died under pretty strange circumstances, I actually had a drink with him one time before he was on the streets. Family is very often a reason some are on the street, they just neglect them when they don't know how to support them, just pretend they don't exist.

I have heard of people acting like tramps as undercover operatives for the police, or other, more secret entity, government; and otherwise.

Often families blame the individual for their situation; especially if they have a slow onset mental issue that causes them to become unreasonable or even violent. Sometimes families feel victimized by the person; from incidents caused by the illness or not. I knew one person who was found walking the street had hit a family member over the head with a cane while he was slowly developing dementia. A lot of people just do not know how to properly deal with such situations; it is sad really.

True, followed and upvoted. I have heard of people who live like that to write a story about it. Also here in South Africa there is this one night when CEOs sleep on the street as a sign of sympathy or whatever.

But it could just be a way of pretending to care. I mean if you really care do something about it, you know? Not necessarily by giving them money, but at least an opportunity of some kind. This sleep out thing may make things worse maybe.

I agree with you, mental illnesses are not understood by most people. And why call it mental? Is your brain not physical? You know what I mean?

Great post, thanks! That is cool that you let people sleep on your couch. Many people would be too scared to do that.

I agree with you about the mental disorders. In Boston we used to take the homeless donuts and coffee under a bridge and then invite them to church. After church we would take them to an all you can eat buffet. They loved it. I really loved these guys, wonder where they are now.

Sometimes I think it is hard to break free from the poverty mindset or lifestyle. Because it is easy for our brain to develop certain irrational patterns of thinking that keep you poor. Just my thoughts.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58248.35
ETH 3136.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36