Creativity Blog Entry #1: Easy to make placement cards

in #life7 years ago (edited)

super easy DIY to decorate your table!

We have a yearly event in my family, a huge family dinner to which my parents invite...everyone! some years we are 42 people, some years even more... have you ever tried serving dinner to 42 people at once? crazy! but you know what is always the hardest part? sitting everyone down at the table so they all have someone to talk to that they enjoy!

We all have our own little part in this yearly event. Even now when my brother, Sister and I are adults and have our own little families and kids to look after, we still pull our weight for this festive night. and to be honest - I love it. My mom have always invested a huge effort in these dinners, in the food and in the design of the table and its decoration. I think its where I get my taste for creativity, the table designs, the costumes my parents made for us growing up, its all part of me today.

Place Card Birds 1.JPG

So, one of the responsibilities I have each year is to create the placement cards.
this year, the table was in a brown coco colour and so i matched it with pastel birds. I created 3 types of birds, each intended to sit atop the wine glass and have the name of the person that is meant to sit in that spot.
I went to the craft store and bought pastel coloured 180 grams card stock papers.
searched online for bird templates and found a few that i modified using photoshop to these 3 here:
bird1_small.png

bird2_small.jpg

bird3.jpg

then i printed the birds onto the card stock and set about the cutting of 50 pieces.
because i wanted to place them on the wine glass i left the cutting of the slit for the glass to the evening of the event. its important to make the slit the right size so the bird doesn't fall into the glass....
I cut the slits in different locations so the birds look a bit different each time. some look like they are drinking from the glass, others just resting :)

Place Card Birds 2.JPG

BTW - my dad has the really hard part - deciding who sits where!
So, what do you think? next time you will try these yourself?

Sort:  

Love the idea of using birds and an alternative placement of name cards overall!

I think this is great and I'm definetely gonna steal your idea next Thanksgiving!

so glad you liked it! ill be posting more cool stuff in the near future, hope you like those as well :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60893.72
ETH 2624.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56