Meditation, Anxiety, and Growth

in #life7 years ago

DSC_0411 (2).JPG
*Original photography


Meditation is one of the only things that has helped me overcome anxiety. It's easy, and you can do it too.
Now I don't know a person who has never felt anxious. Anxiety problems are becoming more frequent and common. Anxiety and depression are two things I have struggled with in my life.
I missed much school because of my anxiety and the panic-induced state it often left me in. As I have gotten older I have learned how to much-better manage my anxiety.
Maybe you deal with anxiety as well?

What is Meditation Really? And how do I do it?

Meditation is the mental practice of focusing ones mind on something very particular in order to reach a state of a clear mind. The best way for me to describe it to you is by example.
First I start by focusing on my breathing. Many people sit when mediating, but I lay down because I feel as if I am more relaxed that way. I take deep breathes, focusing on the rising and falling of my chest. If my mind drifts to thinking about something other than the rising and falling of my chest, I bring my attention back when I notice my mind has drifted. I slow my breathing to a normal rate and then focus on the feeling in my toes, then my feet, then my leg, and upward. I take my time with each area of my body focusing on how it feels.
Again if my mind drifts, I just bring my attention back to my body.
It's not about making sure you mind isn't drifting. It's about letting your mind drift and being able to bring your focus back to what you are focusing on.
Sometimes I focus on the noises around me. Voices outside my room. A plane passing. Maybe a fan. It all about focusing on something in such a way that helps clear your mind. Focusing on my breathing and my body helps me relax before bed and after a long day.
Mediation is healing in a way that cannot simply be explained.
Yoga and meditation together is a great way to get peak relaxation in your body. I recommend mediation and yoga to anyone who deals with a lot of stress.

How Do I start?
Let me tell you how I got started! With a mediation app!
"Headspace", the meditation app allows you to do a trial with 10 days worth of mediation. IT helps expalin the process to you and you even have a proctor helping you along your way.
I have also used the app "Smiling Mind".
I recommend starting out with Headspace and then moving to Smiling Mind for a more wind range and variety of mediation types.
There are plenty of free mediation apps out there that are really helpful and useful.
I mediate now without using either app.

Growth

I feel like I have grown a lot as a human being through mediation.
It offer a way for you to really clear you mind. Studies show it can even help lower your blood pressure.
Less stress and anxiety, and a happier, healthier mind. I don't know why anyone wouldn't take 10 minutes out of there day and not give it a try.
I am happy to say that I manage my anxiety much better than before.
It's amazing to explore different things that we never would have thought about doing before.
Mediation is very therapeutic for me.
It's not for everyone, but next time you have a chance or are feeling a bit overwhelmed, give it a try.

Mellow mediating,

Truthtalks


@truthtalks
https://steemit.com/@truthtalks
March 2, 2018

Sort:  

Could not agree more meditation change my whole view on life. Although have slacked a little recently thanks for the redirection to it :) 💯🐒

hi...plzz subscribe me and vote for me ....thank youuuu

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56325.56
ETH 2374.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33