Broccoli Beef Stir Fry

in #life6 years ago

27337094_1583043048444656_8049067515545407665_n.jpg

As a college student who lives on campus, I often don't have the time or resources to make my own food. So whenever I get the chance, I enjoy cooking my lovely boyfriend a meal at his apartment.
Last night I made Broccoli Beef stir fry, and it was delicious.
This is probably one of my favorite recipes and I found it online, and made a few changes to it for my own liking. I tend to go heavy on the soy sauce because not only I, but also my boyfriend Michael, love soy sauce.


I do prep work first which includes cutting broccoli, onion, and the beef.
So I got a pound of Chuck steak and sliced it into thin strips about an inch long and a quarter inch wide. How you slice is up to your preference.
First I mix:
2 tablespoons of water
2 tablespoons cornstarch
1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
Then I toss the meat in the mixture and turn the heat on medium high with about a tablespoon of oil in a large pan.
When the pan is heated I throw the meat in and cook.

Remove meat and keep warm.

Add another tablespoon of oil to pan and add:
About 4 cups of broccoli florets
1 small onion cut into wedges( I only used half of my onion)

Now, I add about 1/4 cup of water to the pan and cover it to help give the broccoli a steamed texture. This usually takes me 6-10 minutes. I just wait until it gets to my desired doneness.

Stir occasionally.

Uncover and return beef to pan.

Combine 1/3 cup soy sauce, 2 tablespoons brown sugar, 1 teaspoon ginger, 1 tablespoon cornstarch and 1/2 cup water water until smooth; add to the pan
(I added more soy sauce for my particular taste than the recipe calls for)

Cook and stir for a couple more minutes. The sauce should be thicker and not watery when it is done.

Rice:

For the rice you can make it however you want.
I get the 90 second microwaveable kind and I put it in whenever I am almost done.
Less dishes, easier cleanup, and quick. Plus the rice is super good.
I served the stir-fry next to the rice, but you can also serve it on top of the rice.

Drink:
The drink I made is a mixture of pineapple juice, sprite, and one shot of vodka, with ice.
I enjoy playing around with new drink ideas, particularly fruity ones.

The recipe link I used I will post down below, It is a little confusing and I almost put 2 tablespoons of garlic powder in, WHICH YOU DO NOT WANT TO DO. Only like half a teaspoon is needed.


I love this recipe. Michael and I both put soy sauce on our rice, but mixing the rice and the stir-fry is also super good.

http://www.geniuskitchen.com/recipe/the-best-easy-beef-and-broccoli-stir-fry-99476#activity-feed


@truthtalks
https://steemit.com/@truthtalks
January 28th, 2018

Sort:  

It looks very tasty! Can you throw some to Philippines? ^_^ glad to have you here! Welcome! I love your arts BTW! Keep showing that mad talent girl!

Happy steeming!

That drink sounds lovely... add in some grenadine and you'd have a wonderful and fruity Pineapple Sunset :)

I make simples recipes you should follow :)

“All truth passes through three stages. First, it is ridiculed, second it is violently opposed, and third, it is accepted as self-evident”. Arthur Schopenhauer

#truthtrain

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57452.21
ETH 3016.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36