You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Staring at the Post-Facebook World

in #life7 years ago

Just the other day I defriended 60%~ of my friends list from Facebook. They are all people I used to work with/went to school or college with that I will never in my life see again. I don't plan on asking them to ever do anything or plan to comment or message them.

I feel a little better now haha. But I only use Facebook for messages back and forth between friends who still use it. Other than that it is just a waste of time + obnoxious people argue. I wish there was a downvote button on facebook because so many trolls and just ignorant people commenting all the time drive me nuts. They have no penalty for being a-holes so they just be a-holes, and they wouldn't be like that in person either.

Something something, the whole disconnection from seeing another persons face and what not. I forget what that is called, the phenomenon where people feel like they can say anything online but not in person.

And twitter is pretty bad too.

Sort:  

Exactly. My next article on this is how the lack of consequence for behavior drives the worst behavior. People are only kept relatively ethical in their behavior when there is a fear of reprisal. Action without cost is the root of evil. It's what power really is, the ability to cause harm without consequence.... to act in such a way that you take no responsibility for the action.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67978.59
ETH 3270.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65